Davao prelate elected new CBCP prexy

DAVAO Archbishop Romulo Valles on Saturday was elected as the incoming president of the Catholic Bishops Conference of the Philippines (CBCP) during the CBCP's 115th Plenary Assembly in Manila.

Valles, the current CBCP vice president, will succeed outgoing CBCP President and Lingayen-Dagupan Archbishop Socrates Villegas.

By tradition, the CBCP vice president usually gets elected as the next CBCP president.

Meanwhile, Kalookan Bishop Pablo David was elected as the incoming CBCP vice president.

Palo Archbishop John Du and Fr. Marvin Mejia were both re-elected as Treasurer and Secretary General, respectively.

Elected as CBCP Regional Representatives in Luzon are Nueva Segovia Archbishop Marlo Peralta (North Luzon), Balanga Bishop Ruperto Santos (Central Luzon), Imus Bishop Reynaldo Evangelista (Southern Luzon), Gumaca Bishop Victor Ocampo (Southeast Luzon), and Libmanan Bishop Jose Rojas (Southwest Luzon).

For Visayas, elected as CBCP Regional Representatives are Capiz Archbishop Jose Advincula (East Visayas), and
Calbayog Bishop Isabelo Abarquez (West Visayas).

CBCP Regional Representatives for Mindanao, meanwhile, are Ozamiz Archbishop Martin Jumoad (North Mindanao), and Zamboanga Archbishop Romulo dela Cruz (South Mindanao).

The new set of CBCP officers are set to serve from December 1, 2017 to November 30, 2019. (HDT/SunStar Philippines)
style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!