Thursday, December 02, 2021

Palace announces 18 public holidays for 2018

MALACAÑANG announced Wednesday, July 19, at least 18 public holidays in 2018, including eight long weekends.

Proclamation 269, signed by President Rodrigo Duterte, listed the regular holidays and special non-working days for next year.

The long weekends include the four-day Lenten break from March 29 (Maundy Thursday) to April 1 (Easter Sunday). Black Saturday (March 31) has been traditionally declared as special non-working day all throughout the country, in observance of Holy Week.

Another long weekends will be during the All Saints' Day (November 1), All Souls' Day (November 2) and Christmas Day (December 25) as Duterte declared November 2 and December 24 as special non-working holidays.

Here's the complete list of holidays for next year:

Regular holidays

January 1 (Monday) – New Year’s Day
March 29 – Maundy Thursday
March 30 – Good Friday
April 9 (Monday) – Araw ng Kagitingan
May 1 (Tuesday) – Labor Day
June 12 (Tuesday) – Independence Day
August 27 (Monday) – National Heroes Day
November 30 (Friday) – Bonifacio Day
December 25 (Tuesday) – Christmas Day
December 30 (Sunday) – Rizal Day

Special Non-Working Days

February 16 (Friday) – Chinese New Year
February 25 (Sunday) – Edsa People Power Revolution Anniversary
March 31 – Black Saturday
August 21 (Tuesday) – Ninoy Aquino Day
November 1 (Thursday) – All Saints Day
December 31 (Monday) – Last Day of the Year

Additional Special Non-Working Days

November 2 (Friday)
December 24 (Monday)

Duterte said February 16, 2018 was declared special non-working day because Chinese nationals worldwide celebrate Chinese New Year.

The President also said that the 32nd anniversary of Edsa People Power Revolution on February 25, 2018 should be commemorated because it "restored and ushered political, social and economic reforms in the country."

The Chief Executive said the proclamations declaring national holidays for the observance of the Eid'l Fitr and Eid'l Adha will be issued after the approximate dates of the Islamic Holidays have been determined, in the accordance of the Islamic calendar on the lunar calendar. (SunStar Philippines)

style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!