35th Luna Awards nominees revealed

THE Film Academy of the Philippines has announced the official nominees for the upcoming 35th Luna Awards.

Actor Paolo Ballesteros is nominated in the Best Actor category alongside Aljur Abrenica, Joshua Garcia, Ronwaldo Martin and seasoned actor Bembol Roco.

Cannes Film Festival awardee Jaclyn Jose, meanwhile, received another acting nomination for "Ma 'Rosa".

Here's the official list of nominees of the 35th Luna Awards:

Best Picture
"Die Beautiful"
"Ang Hapis at Himagsik in Hermano Puli"
"Ignacio de Loyola"
"Pamilya Ordinaryo"
"Saving Sally"
"Vince & Kath & James"

Best Direction
Paolo Dy ("Ignacio de Loyola")
Jun Lana ("Die Beautiful")
Brillante Mendoza ("Ma ’Rosa")
Gil M. Portes ("Ang Hapis at Himagsik ni Hermano Puli")
Eduardo W. Roy, Jr. ("Pamilya Ordnaryo")
Paul Soriano ("Dukot")

Best Actor
Aljur Abrenica ("Ang Hapis at Himagsik ni Hermano Puli")
Paolo Ballesteros ("Die Beautiful")
Joshua Garcia ("Vince & Kath & James")
Ronwaldo Martin ("Pamilya Ordinaryo")
Bembol Roco ("Pauwi Na")

Best Actress
Julia Barretto ("Vince & Kath & James")
Angeli Bayani ("Ned’s Project")
Jaclyn Jose ("Ma ’Rosa")
Jaclyn Jose ("Patay na si Jesus")
Hasmine Kilip ("Pamilya Ordinaryo")
Cherry Pie Picache ("Pauwi Na")
Meryll Soriano ("Pauwi Na")

Best Supporting Actor
Ronnie Alonte ("Seklusyon")
Christian Bables ("Die Beautiful")
Ricky Davao ("Dukot")
Jerald Napoles ("Pauwi Na")

Best Screenplay
Daisy Cayanan, Kim Noromor and Anjanette Haw ("Vince & Kath & James")
Paolo Dy ("Ignacio de Loyola")
Troy Espiritu ("Ma ’Rosa")
Eduardo W. Roy, Jr. ("Pamilya Ordinaryo")
Charlene Sawit-Esguerra and Carlo Ledesma ("Saving Sally")
Rody Vera ("Die Beautiful")

Best Cinematography
Albert Banzon ("Ang Hapis at Himagsik ni Hermano Puli")
Lee Briones-Meily ("Ignacio de Loyola")
Mycko David ("Tuos")
Odyssey Flores and Rommel Sales ("Saving Sally")
Carlo Mendoza ("Die Beautfiul")
Sasha Palomares ("Pauwi Na")

Best Production Design
Steff Derej ("Tuos")
Erikson Navarro ("Seklusyon")
Rocket Sheep Studio, Romel Laquian and Erik Manalo ("Saving Sally")
John Paul Sapitula ("Ned’s Project")
Leo Velasco Jr. ("Ignacio de Loyola")

Best Editing
Beng Bandong ("Vince & Kath & James")
Jay Halili ("Seklusyon")
George Jarlego ("Ang Hapis at Himagsik ni Hermano Puli")
Sheryll Lopez ("Ignacio de Loyola")
Benjamin Gonzales Tolentino ("Die Beautiful")

Best Musical Score
Tonton Africa and Francis de Veyra ("Ang Hapis at Himagsik ni Hermno Puli")
Ryan Cayabyab ("Ignacio de Loyola")
Richard Gonzales ("Die Beautiful")
Jessie Lasaten ("Vince & Kath & James")
Francis de Veyra ("Patay na si Jesus")
Francis de Veyra ("Seklusyon")

Best Sound
Aurel Claro Bilbao ("Vince & Kath & James")
Joshua Cantillon and Mikko Quizon ("Saving Sally")
Bebet Casas, Jr. and Armand de Guzman ("Die Beautiful")
Lamberto Casas, Jr. and Albert Michael Idioma ("Seklusyon")
Albert Michael Idioma ("Ignacio de Loyola")
Mark Laccay ("Ang Hapis at Himagsik ni Hermano Puli")

Meanwhile, veteran actor Eddie Garcia will be this year's recipient of the Golden Reel Award while Quezon City Mayor Herbert Bautista and production designer Des Bautista will be awarded the Fernando Poe Jr. Lifetime Achievement Award and Manuel de Leon Award for Exemplary Achievements, respectively.

Director Lav Diaz and ABS-CBN Chief Content Officer Charo Santos-Concio will also be given awards of appreciation by the Film Academy of the Philippines.

The 35th Luna Awards will be held on August 26, 2017. (SunStar Philippines)
style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!