Saturday July 21, 2018

Unit 5-Prisaa Meet underway

THE Unit 5-Private School Athletic Association (Prisaa) Meet opened Tuesday, September 26, at the Southern Philippines Baptist Theological Seminary Inc. (SBPTSI).

A total of 25 out of the 32 Prisaa-member schools joined the annual meet that will serve as a qualifier for the Regional Prisaa and the Davao City Athletic Association (DCAA) Meet.

The schools were Abba's Orchard School, Agro-Industrial Foundation College of the Philippines, AMA, Amigo School of Calinan Inc., Apo Learning Center, Davao Doctors College, Emar Human and Environment College, Good Soil Academy, Holy Spirit Academy of Calinan, Independent Liberty Baptist Academy, Jose Maria College, Lamb of God Sped Academy, Little Lab School House Inc., Mindanao Christian Foundation College and Seminary, New Ilang Achievers Academy, Rizal Memorial Colleges, SPBTSI, St. Francis College of Davao Inc., St. Francis Xavier Learning Center, University of Mindanao-Maim, University of Mindanao-Ilang and Wisdom Islamic School of Davao.

SPBTSI will host the basketball, while RMC will be the venue for taekwondo and football.

The rest of the games will be played at UM Matina starting Wednesday, September 27.

Prisaa president and newly-appointed Unit 5 chairman Ma. Lita Montalban, in an interview with SunStar Davao on the sidelines of the opening, was elated with the growing number of the Prisaa-member schools and hopes more schools will join each year.

"We are happy to have seven new member schools joining us year. We also hope for the best in the upcoming national events," Montalban said, assuring that there will be no conflict between the Regional and National Prisaa meets with the DCAA Meet, Davraa (Davao Regional Athletic Association) Meet and Palarong Pambansa.

Dr. Edgar Aungon Sr., president of SPBTSI, welcomed the competing delegations led by their sports coordinators and school principals.

Pastor Roniel Tabay, for his part, underscored Christian values to athletes.

Independent Liberty Baptist Academy vice president Seme Saan gave the opening remarks, while Jan Elyze Delos Reyes of RMC led the oath of sportsmanship.

Montalban declared the games open.