SEVEN New People’s Army (NPA) rebels have surrendered in the province of Zamboanga Sibugay brought about by the pressure of continuous military offensive in the province, a top official announced Thursday.

Major General Rolando Joselito Bautista, the Army’s 1st Infantry Division commander, said they surrendered around 6 a.m. Wednesday at the headquarters of the 102nd Infantry Brigade in the village of Sanito, Ipil, Zamboanga Sibugay.

Bautista identified them as the following: Henry Bawan Becsala alias Natoy; Benbin Gumandag Mandaw alias Lito; Mario Oksik Maghanaoy alias Rex; Lauravel Obaran Niadas alias Maribel; Villa Neadas alias Sandra; Marcelino Gumangay Lavares alias Ruben; and, Joseph Gumangay Lavarez alias Michael.

Becsala, Mandaw, and Maghanaoy have turned-over two AK-47 rifles and a caliber .45 pistol.

“This surrender is a result of the combined intelligence and combat operations being launched by our troops on the ground to employ more pressure and compel the communist terrorists to lay down their arms,” Bautista said.

He said they are undergoing custodial debriefing. (Bong Garcia/SunStar Philippines)