Monday July 16, 2018

PFF names 23-man squad for Yemen match

THE Philippine men’s national team will face Yemen in the fourth match of the AFC Asian Cup UAE 2019 qualifiers on Oct. 10, 2017 at the Saoud Bin Abdulrahman Stadium in Doha, Qatar.

It will be the second meeting between the two sides in the qualifiers. The two teams figured in a 2-2 draw last Sept. 5, 2017 in the Pana-ad Park and Stadium in Bacolod, Negros Occidental. Phil and James Younghusband scored in the draw to keep the Philippines unbeaten with two wins and a draw.

The PFF has called up 23 players for the match, including Stallion Laguna forward Jesus Melliza and JPV Marikina defender Sean Patrick Kane, who earned their first call-up.

FC Meralco Manila’s Curt Dizon makes a return to the squad after a brief stint in 2014.

Defender Daisuke Sato is back in the squad after serving his suspension in the draw against Yemen. Javier Patiño, Amani Aguinaldo, Luke Woodland, and Misagh Bahadoran are out of the squad due to injuries.

Tje rest of the players are the Davao Aguilas’ Dylan de Bruycker, Simone Rota, Nicholas O’Donnel and Phil and James Younghusband, Ceres Negros’ Carlos de Murga, Kevin Ingreso, Jim Junior Munox, Iaian Ramsay, Manuel Ott, Global Cebu’s Hikaru Minegishi, Paul Mulders, Dominic del Rosario, Patrick Deyto and Dennis Villanueva.

Also getting called up are Neil Etheridge of Cardiff City, Harry Foll of FC Hansa Rostock, Mike Ott of Angthong United, Stephen Palla of Wolsberger AC and Daisuki Sato of AC Horsens. (ML)