Tuesday July 17, 2018

Agila 2017 picks 10 most outstanding educators

THE Department of Education-Davao Region, in compliance to the Civil Service Commission's directive for its Program on Awards and Incentives for Service Excellence, held its 2017 Achievement of Great Instructional Leadership Award (Agila) last October 2, at the Grand Regal Hotel in Lanang, Davao City.

Ten teachers from 11 divisions in the region were awarded as most outstanding in their respective categories.

They were Jonalyn L. Pasquito, Elementary Teacher, Tagum City; Mylene Coquilla, Secondary Teacher, Tagum City; Rachid Ocusan, Alive Teacher, Comval; Lorilie Quijano, Sped Teacher, Comval; Allan Madino, IP Teacher, Comval; Shiela Sionosa, ALS Mobile Teacher, Davao del Norte; Aris Fontanilla, Multigrade Teacher, Davao Occidental; Almer Davis, Elementary School Principal, Davao Occidental; Elizabeth Lacorte, Secondary School Principal, Igacos; and Ida Juezan, Igacos, Public Schools District Supervisor, Digos City.

These teachers were able to pass the rigid screening before they were chosen as such.

Aside from plaque, they also received cash prize of P20,000 each.

The Agila Awards is held to acknowledge and give honor to the most outstanding teachers of Davao Region. The awards’ name and idea were conceptualized by the region’s Department of Education (DepEd), led by its director, Lawyer Alberto Escobarte, Ceso III.

It is the second time that the DepEd-Davao Region held the Agila Awards, 2015 being the first.

“We had a big event last year, the National Teachers Day was being held here in Davao City, wherein all the teachers in the country came here,” Dr. Melanie Estacio of DepEd-Davao Region said.

Estacio added that they also perfected the selection process as the reason why they weren’t able to hold the Agila Awards last year.