Saturday July 21, 2018

Dynacast wins 10th straight game in Shaaba

DEFENDING champions Batch 2001 Dynacast finished the elimination round unscathed with a 72-63 win over the 1990-1991 Kogi Q in Division B of the 22nd Sacred Heart-Ateneo Alumni Basketball Athletic Association (Shaabaa) basketball tournament.

Josef Reoma, Erwin Ngo, JP Cabrera and Wendell Ong combined for 55 points to help Dynacast finish the single round-robin elimination round at 10-0 while handing Kogi-Q its second loss in 10 games.

Dynacast will enjoy a twice-to-beat edge against eighth seed 1999 Autolab (4-6) in the quarterfinals, while Kogi-Q, which dropped to third place, faces No.6 2002 San Remegio (5-5).

Meanwhile, the 2015 People’s General moved up to No. 2 in Division C after beating 2008 Cottonseed, 70-51, for its ninth win in 11 games.

Batch 2015 will play 2013 Kitrol (5-6), while Batch 2008 (6-5) will need to beat defending champion 2007 Petron Global Carrier, which finished third with a 9-2 record.

In the other games, 2006 Prince Warehouse beat 2005 Bizol, 67-57; 2007 Petron defeated 2004 Radar Tiers, 76-51; 2009 Crossfit Subtero handed 2010 Omega Pain Killer an 86-67 bashing in Division C; 1995 Savers Depot beat 1999 Autolab, 52-45; and 1996 White Gold Club shot down 2002 San Remegio Properties, 73-61, in Division B. (RCM)