Thursday July 19, 2018

8 outstanding government workers, agencies awarded

THE Civil Service Commission (CSC) in Central Visayas culminated the observance of this year’s 117th Philippine Civil Service Anniversary with its Honor Awards Program (HAP) recognizing eight outstanding government workers and agencies from Negros Oriental recently.

The regional winners for the Presidential Lingkod Bayan (PLB) Award went to Bayawan Watershed Management Team of Bayawan City and Dr. Charlie Fabre, former Provincial Environment and Natural Resources Officer (Penro) of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) in the province and now the regional director of DENR-Caraga.

PLB is conferred to an individual or group of individuals for exceptional or extraordinary contributions resulting from an idea or performance that had nationwide impact on public interest, security, and patrimony.

For her high performance in the division, Department of Education (DepEd) Superintendent Ophelia Hermosa of Bayawan City Division received the CSC Pagasa Award.

CSC Pagasa Award is given to an individual or group of individuals for outstanding contributions resulting from an idea or performance that directly benefit more than one department of the government.

Mayor Valente Yap of Bindoy is also a regional winner for the Dangal ng Bayan (DnB) Award in a recognition rite in Cebu City.

The DnB award is conferred to an individual for performance of an extraordinary act or public service and consistent demonstration of exemplary ethical behavior on the basis of his/her observance of the eight norms of behavior provided under Republic Act 6713.

The awardees for Best Brigada Ahensya include Bayawan Water District and Land Transportation Office Bayawan District Office.

CSC Memorandum Circular 12, s. 2009 launched the annual clean-up program for all government entities to improve the working conditions of government employees, especially where the frontline services are provided.

The CSC also recognized Council of Human Resource Management Practitioners (HRMPs) in the region to award Central Visayas Council of HRMPs headed by interim President and Canlaon City HRMP Sergio Marcos Buenavista and Negros Oriental Council of Administrative and Personnel Officers headed by Siaton HRMP Eufemia Gutang.

Memorandum Circular 38, s. 1990 provides for the creation of a Council of Personnel Officers that shall serve as a clearing house of information and stimulate the use of methods of personnel management that will contribute most to good government.

CSC’s HAP seeks to recognize and reward state officials and employees for their outstanding contributions and achievements in government service.

All nominations received by the regional office through its field offices are evaluated at the regional level by the regional committee on awards to select the regional winners. (PIA)