ANGELES CITY -- First District Representative Carmelo Lazatin was chosen as one of the country’s Most Outstanding Congressmen for year 2009 by the Congress Magazine and the Global News Network (GNN) Television.

Also named as outstanding congressmen are Representatives Luis Villafuerte, Jose Solis, Mauricio Domogan, Rodolo Plaza , Elpidio Barzaga, Rofolfo Antonino, Ferjenel Biron, Olando Fua, Bienvenido Abante, Georgidi Aggbao, Emil Ong, Matias Defensor, Ernesto Pablo, Antonio Roxas, Rufus Rodriguez, Yusop Jikiri, Teodoro Casino, Marcelino Teodoro, Pangalian Balindong, Reno Lim, Irwin Tieng; Faysah Dumarpa, Rizalina Seachon, Adelina Rodriguez-Zaldariaga Ma. Ivita Arago, George Arnaiz, Rexlon Gatchalian, Ferdinand Martin Romualdez, Andres Salvacion, Jr., Justin Marc Chipeo, Eufroceno Codilla, Salvador Britanico, Godofredo Arquiza, Dante Marcoleta, Narciso Santiago Jr., and Mark Llandro Mendoza.

For updates from around the country, follow Sun.Star on Twitter

The awardees were chosen last December 20 by the magazine and television network selection board composed of former Deputy Speaker Alfredo Amor Abueg, Jr; economist, industrialist and UNTV television commentator Doctor Hilarion Henares; former president of the Manila Overseas Press Club and Lyceum Professor Guillermo Santos; GNN Television Channel director Harry Tambuatco; and GNN television commentator Doctor Frank Grego, who is also the editor of Congress Magazine.

Last year, Lazatin was also one of the awardees.

This year’s criteria are the number of pro-poor bills filed and/or passed by the House and forwarded for confirmation by the Senate, and Republic Acts authored; number of accomplished, on-going, and proposed-but-already-funded soft and hard infrastructure projects; crusade for positive governance through earth-shaking privilege speeches and resolutions that triggered committee investigations; and wholesome rapport with their constituents.

Lazatin filed a total of 187 house bills and completed P727 million infrastructure projects in a span of two years.