DAGUPAN CITY -- As of December 10, 2009, the total number of registered voters in the province of Pangasinan was recorded at 1,622,094.

About 6,000 more added during the five-day extension of voter's registration during the last week of December 2009.

For updates from around the country, follow Sun.Star on Twitter

Pangasinan has 44 towns and four cities spread in six congressional districts.

The provincial elections office could not yet issue the exact number of new voters as a number of municipal/city election registrars are yet to submit their reports.

In the May 2007 election, 1,085,023 actually cast their votes or 79 percent of the total registered voters. On the other hand, 1,176,943 voted in the October 2009 barangay election or equivalent to 78.21 percent of the registered voters.

Meanwhile, based on the December 10, 2009 record of the provincial Comelec, San Carlos City, which has 86 barangays, has the biggest number of registered voters in the province.

At second spot is Dagupan City with 92,867 (31 barangays), followed by Urdaneta City with 72,346 (34 barangays), Malasiqui with 71,505 (73 barangays), Bayambang with 64,974 (77 barangays); Calasiao with 55,592 (24 barangays), Binmaley with 54,800 (33 barangays), Mangaldan with 53,900 (30 barangays), Sta. Barbara with 45,178 (29 barangays), and Alaminos City with 43,663 (39 barangays).

In the six congressional districts, District 3 (which has 304 barangays) has the biggest number of registered voters with 364,901 registered voters as of December 2009.

District 5 has 272,879 from its 212 barangays; District 2 has 262,322 from the 231 barangays; District 4 has 248,508 coming from its 140 barangays; District 6 has 247,821 from the 266 barangays; while District 1 has 225,663 coming from the 211 barangays.