DEPARTMENT of Transportation and Communication Cordillera Director Federico Mandapat Jr. fired the day's best of 61 points to rule the 10th Potenciano Ilusorio Golf Tournament last week at the Baguio Country Club.

Mandapat edged 2008 winner Euls Austin, who fired 63 for the first runner-up honors in the Regular Division Class A while Goody Ignacio settled for the second runner-up.

For updates from around the country, follow Sun.Star on Twitter

The annual sports event, conceived by the late chairman for life and president emeritus of the club, lawyer Potenciano Ilusorio, a golfer, sportsman and a philanthropist, is a fund-raising event for the benefit of charitable institutions.

In Class B, Bobong Ribaya edged Criminal Investigation and Detection Group Cordillera Director Moises Guevara who settled for second place while Bong Bangaoet settled for third.

Joseph Pinero fired 54 points to take the championship in Class C while Jesus Fernando and Ronnie Laranang were first and second runners-up, respectively.

Derek Bautista took the crown in Class D while Viyo Hidalgo and Wilson Angheng settled for first and second runner-up honors.

In the seniors division, Jerry Coloma won the championship in Class A edging Benito Ang and Nelson Tandoc. In Class B, Danilo Galang took the championship while Fred Della and Mariano Ang took the first and second runner-up plums, respectively.

The Class C championship was won by Dirk Smit while Joseph Nubla and Jovic Basic settled for the first and second runner-up, respectively.

MJ Prooi took the championship in the Ladies Division Class A while Nida Whybrow took the crown in Class B and Beth Paterson winning it in Class C.

In the Jungolf category, Clifford Tandoc took the championship in Class A while Jemar Mapili took the championship crown in Class B edging Elisha Chan who settled for the first runner up place. Nicholas Fuchs took the championship in Class C.

Professional golfer Chester Calpotura took the championship crown in the guest division while, Michael Alvarez settled for the first runner up honors with Gary Jamora bagging the second runner-up honors.

Jerome Ngo took the most accurate drive award while Benito Ang won the nearest to the pin plum. Charlie Fianza had the longest drive while Kier Padilla won the golf course inspector award.

Bing Mercado took the lowest gross award in the men's division while Buddy Velayo won it in the seniors' side with Nanette Filler took it in the distaff.