THE Commission on Elections (Comelec) will come out with the decision on the Panlilio vs Pineda case “maybe before the end of next week.”

Comelec was earlier reported to come out with the resolution on January 7.

For updates from around the country, follow Sun.Star on Twitter

But Commissioner Nicodemo Ferrer, head of the poll body's second division, clarified to reporters Thursday that the January 7 target date was just an estimate.

“I was quoted as stating January 7. I never said that, what I said was maybe. I don't want to give any estimate anymore,” said Ferrer.

But he also said the decision maybe out by the end of next week.

The resolution is now being reviewed by Elias Yusoph and Lucenito Tagle who are both commissioners of the second division as well.

“It's still on the rounds... Of course I'm giving them sufficient time to review (it),” said Ferrer.

The commissioner disclosed that the decision contains only less than 3,000 pages compared to the 12,000-page decision on unseated Isabela governor Grace Padaca.

Ferrer added that the Comelec is concentrated only on the appreciation of ballots and not on the issue if either of the candidates committed cheating in the 2007 gubernatorial elections in Pampanga.

“(It is centered) in the appreciation. No one cheated. The provincial canvassers, they have their own appreciation. They go over their appreciation. It's not a matter of who cheated or if cheating occurred.”

The electoral protest was filed by Lilia Pineda who accused Panlilio of massive cheating.

Panlilio won over Pineda in the 2007 gubernatorial race by only 1,147 votes.

The camp of Panlilio earlier expressed dismay over the recent rulings of the Comelec particularly the second division presided by Commissioner Ferrer.

It can be recalled that the second division also proclaimed Roberto "Obet" Pagdanganan winning over Joselito Mendoza as governor of Bulacan and Benjamin Dy as the rightful winner of the gubernatorial seat in Isabela over Padaca.

Panlilio, Padaca, and Mendoza are supporters and members of the Liberal Party (LP) of presidential aspirant Benigno "Noynoy" Aquino III. (Kathrina Alvarez/Sunnex)