COMMISSION on Elections (Comelec) Zamboanga Peninsula Director Helen Aguila-Flores disclosed Sunday that 24 politicians have applied for gun ban exemption before her office.

Flores, however, said they have yet to conduct evaluation and assessment before recommending for approval through the Comelec central office in Manila.

For updates from around the country, follow Sun.Star on Twitter

Flores said the Joint Security and Coordination Center (JSCC), composed of representatives from her office, police and military, would conduct the evaluation and assessment.

"We have yet to determine if there is necessity to provide them security," she said.

Flores did not identify the politicans are and from where they have applied for election gun ban election.

Flores' office covers the provinces of Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga del Norte, and Zamboanga del Sur and the cities of Dapitan, Dipolog, Isabela, Pagadian, and Zamboanga.

The election gun ban took effect Sunday as the election period for the May 2010 local and national elections started on the same day.

Flores emphasized that starting Sunday, gun holders are prohibited to carry firearms unless they possess a gun ban exemption. (Bong Garcia)