PRESIDENT Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo on Monday led the conferment of award to several members of the Philippine National Police (PNP) and Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) involved in the implementation of Martial Law in Maguindanao.

At a ceremony inside the Malacanang, Arroyo has conferred Presidential award to five military and six police officials while she had also given spot promotion to the seven military and five police officials.

For updates from around the country, follow Sun.Star on Twitter

Those who received Presidential awards were Lieutenant General Raymundo Ferrer, Eastern Mindanao Commander who served as the chairman of the Joint Security Coordinating Committee (JSCC) and Colonel Leo Cresente Ferrer of the 601st Brigade commander.

Outstanding Achievement Award meanwhile were presented to Lieutenant Colonel Edgardo de Leon of the 73rd Infantry Battalion; Lieutenant Colonel Rolando Nerona of 64th Infantry Battalion; and Lieutenant Colonel Joel Paloma of the 46th Infantry Battalion.

Military officials who got promotions were Corporal Arnold Jaunites, member of Task Force Tugis that conducted search operations led to the recovery of firearms and ammunition; Corporal Walter Lorenzo, from the 6th Military Intelligence Battalion; Private First Class (PFC) Mohammad-Al Jumaidi and Abdulkarim Arik, both members of operating troops under the Command Group of 33th Infantry Battalion; Private First Class Marianito Colong, member of operating troops of 73th Infantry Battalion; Al-Zahle Ahmad, member of the 305th Air Intelligence Squadron and RMC Restituto Palencia of Naval Task Group Polloc who was promoted as Senior Chief Petty Officer.

In the side of the PNP, Police Director Felizardo Manalo Serapio Jr. was the only one who was granted a Presidential award.

Those who were given PNP Outstanding Achievement Medal were Police Director Raul Castañeda of the Criminal Investigation and Detection Group; Chief Superintendent Felicismo Villamor Khu Jr., SOCCSKSARGEN deputy regional director for administration; Senior Superintendent Bienvenido Garcia Latag, ARMM director; Superintendent Sonny Yanga David, chairman of the joint PNP security coordinating council; Senior Superintendent Pedro Austria Jr., leader of the 12th CIDG unit and Superintendent Pamfilo Munoz Regis Sr., team leader of crime laboratory office 12.

PNP officials who were granted special promotions were Senior Police Officer (SPO) 4 Antonio Samillano Aguit, and Senior Police Officer (SPO) 3 Menardo Nisperos Cui both regional officers of ARMM; Police Officer (PO) 3 Rey Marquez Corpuz of Special Action Force; PO2 Herden Jaleco Pedrajas of DIPO-Western Mindanao and PO1 Maureen Miral Agustin of the ARMM regional office.

The President said she has made the awarding and promotion due to successful implementation of martial law in Maguindanao which was declared at the height of the gruesome massacre of 57 people believed to be politically related. (Jill Beltran/Sunnex)