THE first Rhoy H. Laingo Memorial Cup Junior Tennis Championships fires off January 23 and 24, 30 and 31 at the Ecoland Phase 4 Tennis Club courts, Philippine Tennis Association (Philta) regional vice-president for Mindanao Juanito "Titong" Cansino bared this to Sun.Star Davao Tuesday.

For updates from around the country, follow Sun.Star on Twitter

Cansino said the Philta Group 5 tournament features the 10-under unisex, boys and girls 12-under, 14-under, 16-under and 18-under categories. Registration is P300 per entry.

"We will accept double entries in this two-weekend competition that offers cash prizes and creatively-designed trophies to the top two players in each event," Cansino said.

The champions will each receive P2,000 while the runners-up will each go home with P1,000. (MLSA)