MANILA -- The Commission on Elections (Comelec) has approved the candidacy of independent presidential candidates Nicanor Perlas and Vetallano Acosta.

This brings the presidential aspirants to 10 -- including Liberal Party’s Benigno “Noynoy” Simeon III Aquino, Olongapo city councilor and Ang Kapatiran Party’s JC De Los Reyes, Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino’s Joseph “Erap” Estrada, Bagumbayan-Volunteers for a New Philippines (VNP)’s Richard “Dick” Gordon, Independent candidate Jamby Madrigal, Lakas-Kampi-CMD’s Gilbert Teodoro, Bangon Pilipinas Party Bro. Eddie Villanueva and Nacionalista Party’s Manny Villar.

In resolution 8743, the bid of green candidate Perals was approved because of his "distinguished track record in public service".

Five poll commissioners approved the bid while Comelec chair Jose Melo and Commissioner Nicodemo Ferrer rejected it.

Meanwhile, four senatorial candidates were also approved by the poll body which includes former Cebu governor Lito Osmeña, detained Brig. Gen. Danilo Lim, and independent candidates Nanette Espinosa and Adz Nikabulin. (Kathrina Alvarez/Sunnex)