PARTY-LIST groups need to remind their supporters of the number that will be assigned to them by the Commission on Elections (Comelec).

Comelec Commissioner Gregorio Larrazabal said they are looking to implement the initial plans of assigning a number to the names of party-list groups in the official ballots for the May 10 polls.

Click here for stories and updates on the Sinulog 2010 Festival.

"We will have 144-numbered party-list organizations in the ballots. It will be arranged alphabetically," Larrazabal told reporters.

In coming up with such idea, the Comelec earlier explained that numbering the party-list groups would be easy for voters since they will only look for the number of the group of their choice and do not have to go through the long list of names.

He also reminded the party-list organization that they will also need to familiarize their supports on the acronym of their group since their acronym will be the one to be printed on the ballot and the whole name of their group.

"It will only be the acronym of the organization that will be put in the ballot and not the whole name," Larrazabal explained.

On January 15, the Comelec approved the application of 144 party-list organizations to participate in the May polls.

The groups that were given a go signal to join the forthcoming elections were: 1-Aani, 1-AK, 1-Care, 1-Abaa, 1Ganap/Guardians, 1st Kabagis, A Blessed, AT, Abakada, Abang Lingkod, Aba Ilonggo, Abante Ka, Abamin, ATM, Abono, Abroad, ADD-Tribal, ADD, ACT Teachers, Alim, AKO, Adam, Alon, Ating Koop, A Teacher, Asahan Mo, A-Ipra, Agbiag, Agila, Agila, Agri, ADA, Agap, Ahon, Akap Bata, Apoi, Akbayan, Ako, and AKB.

Also qualifying were Akma-PTM, Amana, Anakalusugan, Alagad, Alay Buhay, Abay Parak, Aama, ABC, Anad, AFPSEGCO, ARC, 1-Tubig (formerly Aawas), ABP-Bicolnon, Anupa, APO, Arcapp, AVE, ATS, Alma, Almana, AMS, Agham, ABA, An Waray, Anak Mindanao, Anakpawis, Aani, Aambis-Owa, AG, ALIF, Ang Ladlad, AMA, A Tambay, Anak, ABS, and Atong Paglaum.

The groups Amang, Aral, ALE, AAPS, Apec, Babae Ka, Bago, Bandila, BH, Banat, Bida, Bayan Muna, Bayani, Bigkis, Binhi, Biyaheng Pinoy, Biyayang Bukid, Buhay, Butil, Chinoy, Cibac, CPM, Senior Citizens, Cocofed, Cofa, Consla, Coop-Natcco, Dwa, Fil-Mus, Firm 24-K, 1st Prisa, Gabriela, Green Force, Ivap, KLBP, Kabayan, Kabataan, and Buklod Filipina were also allowed to run.

Deemed genuine party-list groups too were Kalahi, Kalinga, Kakusa, Ang Kasangga, AA-Kasosyo Party, Kaakbay, Katribu, Kaagapay, Kasapi, 1-Ahapo, Oragon, OPO, PEP, Katutubo, PM, Pacyaw, PCL, PBA, Smart, SB, Bantay, TUCP, 1 Ang Pamilya (formerly ANC), UNI-MAD, 1-Utak, Vendors Party List, VFP, WPI, Yes We Can, Yacap, and Lypad. (FP/Sunnex)