DEPARTMENT of Education (DepEd) in Northern Mindanao will give incentives to student journalists who won the top three places in the Regional Schools Press Conference (RSPC).

The conference was held last month in Clarin, Misamis Occidental.

Click here for stories and updates on the Sinulog 2010 Festival.


Luz S. Almeda, DepEd-Northern Mindanao director, said incentives would also be given to the students’ coaches and campus paper advisers.


“While we give incentives to those who excel in sports and our athletes for representing the region, sometimes we take the journalists for granted. But now, we will be giving them incentives,” Almeda said during the closing of a three-day enhancement training on Sunday.

Winners will represent the region to the National Schools Press Conference (NSPC) slated from February 22 to 26 in Tagum City, Davao del Norte.


She said those who ranked first in the Regional School Press Conference (RSPC) will be given P3,000, while the second gets P2,000, and the third with P1,000.


The coaches and campus advisers will also get their equal share.


Almeda said the incentives would be given in a formal awarding ceremony as soon as the student journalists and their coaches and campus paper advisers would get back from the NSPC.


The division of Cagayan de Oro is sending the biggest number of contestants to the NSPC when it emerged champion over-all during last month’s RSPC.

The division gained a total of 360 cumulative points in secondary level and 63 points in elementary level, besting 12 other divisions from Camiguin, Bukidnon, Malaybalay City, Valencia City, Lanao del Norte, Gingoog City, Misamis Oriental, Iligan City, Misamis Occidental, Oroquieta City, Ozamiz City and Tangub City.


Among the secondary schools in Cagayan de Oro with the most number of winning students are the Regional Science High School, Bugo National High School, Pedro N. Roa Sr. High School, Lourdes College High School, Pilgrim Christian College, St. Mary’s Academy of Carmen, Bayanga National High School, Calaanan National High School, Cagayan de Oro National High School and Cugman National High School.


Elementary schools in the city with outstanding campus journalists are Camaman-an Elementary School, North City Central School, Bulua Central School, West City Central School, Iponan Elementary School, Bonbon Elementary School, Suntingon Elementary School, Cagayan de Oro Central School, St. Mary’s School, Angelicum Learning Center and East City Central School.


All the RSPC top three winners in editorial writing, sports writing, editorial cartooning, photojournalism, news writing, copy reading and headline writing, feature writing, broadcasting and on-line writing will vie against the winners from the other regions in the country during the NSPC. (Terry D.C. Betonio)