After 395 laps and over 5,300 km covered, Porsche scored a convincing 1-2 victory in this year's Le Mans 24-hour race held on June 13 and 14. Thus ended 15 years of dominance by Audi.

Drivers Earl Bamber (NZ), Nico Hülkenberg (GER) and Nick Tandy (GB) won the coveted trophy in their innovative Porsche 919 Hybrid with its unorthodox turbocharged V4 engine.

Timo Bernhard (GER), Brendon Hartley (NZ) and Mark Webber (AUS) in the sister car added the icing on the cake when they came home in second.

Not only did the drivers climb the first two spots on the podium, they did so without any major mishaps on track. This win is the first overall trophy for Porsche since 1998. Audi previously won the last five races, and 13 of the last 15.

Wolfgang Hatz, board member for Research and Development of Porsche AG, said: “A one-two finish in what is only our second year is an amazing reward for the guts of our engineers regarding the 919 Hybrid’s concept, and the relentless efforts of our 230 team members.”

Porsche only returned last year to the top level of endurance racing, attracted by the new efficiency regulations. In the brand’s Research Center in Weissach, Germany, the most innovative car of the entire grid was developed.

The Porsche 919 Hybrid has a trend-setting downsizing turbo engine and two energy recovery systems, which all together create a power train delivering around 1,000 HP. It works as a racing laboratory for the highest efficiency of future road-going sports cars.

At the 83rd Le Mans 24-Hours all the systems of this highly complex race car were tested to their limits. Because of the very tight competition, especially between the Porsche 919 Hybrids and the Audi prototypes, the race went on in qualifying mode twice round the clock.

In qualifying, the three Porsches did not only lock out the front of the grid with a one-two-three, but also set a new qualifying record for the 13.629 kilometers long track. The pinnacle was also the performance of the pit crew, who managed 90 pit stops in total and were significantly faster than the competition.

Over the course of 24 grueling hours of the competition, the winning Porsche averaged a stunning 224 km/h, reaching a top speed of over 340 km/h.

Australian Mark Webber, co-driver in car number 17 which came second said: “The guys in number 19, the winning Porsche, did a great job. All three of them were exceptional for 24 hours. It is a big day for Porsche.

"We had a smooth race, but in the end weren't quick enough. Brendon and Timo did a great job. We are very proud for Porsche."

Corvette also returned to the winner's circle, with the No. 64 C7.R taking winning the GTE Pro division. The victory is the first class win for Corvette since 2011. With 45 minutes to go the No. 98 Aston Martin crashed out of first place in GTE Amateur, giving the class win to SMP Racing's Ferrari and second place to the Patrick Dempsey Racing Porsche 911RSR.