Monday July 23, 2018

Comelec disqualifies 7 overaged elected SK officials in Oro

THE Commission on Elections (Comelec) in Cagayan de Oro has disqualified seven elected Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) officials for being overaged.

In a letter addressed to Comelec-Misamis Oriental, City Comelec Officer lawyer Ramil Acol said he already reported the fate of the winning SK officials to the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG).

Acol identified those who were disqualified as Ian King March Pimentel Miyake who won the SK chairperson post in barangay Cugman, Michelle Jose Tamparong who was voted as an SK member for barangay 25, and Samson Roa of barangay Tumpagon who was voted as SK chairperson.

Also included in the list were Darryl Jay Miego Romero of barangay 32, Jocell Lauderes of barangay 21, John Baltazar Padinit Joaquin of barangay Bonbon who were all voted as SK members of their respective villages, and Agustine Racaza Laron, voted as SK chairperson of barangay Indahag.

Roa, Romero, Kauderes, Laron, and Joaquin have already been proclaimed winners.

Already, Acol said some of these SK officials have inquired at the Comelec office regarding their status.

"Their proclamation is suspended, and if they were already proclaimed, the proclamation bears no effect," he said.

Acol explained they have indeed pointed out these irregularities to the filers themselves during the filing of Certificates of Candidacy (COC).

But the Comelec, holding "ministerial functions" during elections, will have to accept the COCs despite the irregularities therein.

As of this writing, Acol said its office still hasn't received any election protests, though he urged those who have any questions to visit his office.

Acol said those who wish to file an election protest will have to go to the courts, and not to the Comelec.

"Maghulat ra man ang Comelec dayon sa court order (The Comelec will only wait for the court order)."

It can be recalled that a total of 69 candidates for the Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) in Northern Mindanao have exceeded the age limit for the youth council elections.

Of the 69 total of SK candidates across the region, 22 are from Misamis Oriental towns (excluding Cagayan de Oro), 16 are from Misamis Occidental, 7 from Lanao del Norte and one from Bukidnon.

Under the law, candidates who are qualified for the Sangguniang Kabataan posts should only be between 18 and 24 years old.

An SK candidate must be a Filipino, a qualified voter of the Katipunan ng Kabataan, a resident of the barangay for at least a year, able to read and write in Filipino, English, or the local language, not convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude, and have no relatives within second degree of consanguinity or affinity to any incumbent official.