Thursday August 16, 2018

Comelec disqualifies 19 SK candidates from Cebu

NINETEEN Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) candidates in Cebu were ordered disqualified by the Commission on Elections (Comelec) due to eligibility issues.

Lawyer Ferdinand Gujilde, Cebu Provincial Election Officer, said the omnibus order of the Comelec’s first and second division suspends the proclamation of the candidates who are unable to meet the age requirement (18 to 24) and those who are not registered voters.

The order further directs election officers and the board of canvassers to suspend the effect of the proclamation if these candidates were already proclaimed.

This means that even if they were already proclaimed as winners in last Monday’s SK elections, they cannot assume office.

Gujilde said, though, that the disqualified candidate may file a motion for reconsideration.

In barangays where the winning SK chairman is disqualified, the first councilor will assume as acting SK chairperson.

But once the disqualification is final, the candidate for SK chairperson with the second highest number of votes will be declared as the SK chairperson because the disqualified official was not a qualified candidate to begin with.

If the disqualified winner ran unopposed, Gujilde said that the first councilor will become the SK chairperson, and the mayor, through the SK council’s recommendation, will appoint a new SK member.

The winning SK candidates are mandated by law to undergo a week-long training before they can assume office.

chair will get P7,000. The supervising principal will get P5,000, while the support staff is entitled to P3,000.

As to the poll results, Reuyan said that two candidates from Barangays Basak and Tabok have asked about the process for seeking a recount of the ballots.

Other than that, she said, no question was raised. (Ginalyn Astudillo, CNU Intern & JPP)