Sunday August 19, 2018

Baguio athletes shine in APA Championships

ISABELA. Baguio City’s Thryxen Alfonzo leaps past her opponent during a recent regional meet. Alfonzo earned a silver medal in the recently concluded 2018 Ayala Philippine Athletics Championships held in Ilagan, Isabela. (Roderick Osis)

DAYS after seeing action in the Philippine National Games, Baguio athletes flew straight to Ilagan, Isabela for the 2018 Ayala Philippine Athletics Championships reaping two golds, six silvers and five bronze medals.

University of Baguio (UB) which competed separately from the Summer Capital also went home with two golds, two silvers and two bronze medals.

Hernani Sore earned Baguio’s two gold medals winning the 3,000 and the 1,500 meters master’s category clocking 10:13.02 and 4:14.36 respectively in both events.

City Sports Coordinator Gaudencio Gonzales said despite the lack of rest, Baguio athletes still managed to bring home several medals in their respective events.

“Some had to beg off because they do not want to take the risk of suffering injury,” adds Gonzales.

Baguio’s silver medalists include Thryxen Alfonzo (100 meters high hurdles), Erwin Bong Generalao (10,000 meters run), Cristabel Martes (1500 meters run), the 4X400 meter mixed relay squad composed of Mary Grace Zamudio, Ira Mae Gali, Dexter Manaois, and Louie Agawa and Rosejean Yparraguirre, (1,500 meters masters, long jump masters) .

Bronze medalists include the 4X100 meter relay girls squad composed of Dorin Aromin, Jemyka Alfonzo, Thryxen Alfonzo, and Mary Grace Zamudio; Cesar Castaneto (10,000 M), Erwin Bong Generalao (5,000 meter), Baxter Aromin (100 meters) and Zamudio (800 meter girls).

UB, meanwhile, was led by Palarong Pambansa gold medalists Eduard Josh Buenavista taking home the top plum in the 3,000 meters while Felyn Dolloso earned the gold in women’s triple jump leaping to 11.37 meters for the win.

Silver medalist include Dolloso (women long jump) and the 4x100 meter mixed relay team composed of Rudilyn Fernandez, Roma Faye Basco, Roy Duran, and Melvin Madungit while the bronze medalists are Basco and Joan Caido. (Roderick Osis)