Friday, September 21, 2018

BCY 2 steals top spot from KMH in Trios duckpin elims

BCY Team 2 stole the group "A" top seed from defending champions Kami Mga Hubin after the 10-night elimination round of the 18th BCBC Open Trios Duckpin Bowling League 2018 ended June 7 at Negros Super Lanes.

The 35-pincushion of eventual no.2 seed KMH behind Toto Flores at the helm was negated by Edgar de Leon-led BCY 2 when they pinned down 1,093 in the pairing round, 54 pins more that night.

BCY 2 will enjoy a twice-to-beat advantage in the championship round waiting for the winner in the up-the-ladder finals tonight between KMH and no.3 seed sister team BCY/La Filipina of powerhouse bowler Bobby Yap.

ESD Solid Strikers, meanwhile, finished fourth to secure the advantage in group "B." They will now wait for the winner between Silverado/ASSFBI and Davies in the ladder finals.

In the distaff, top finisher Triple-D/ASSFBI bowlers downed RJ Star to reclaim the bonus for the next round. Second seed RJ Star has to defeat the winner between KMH Jobbie and ON-BACIBA in the said round on June 14.

Qualified teams' scores after the eliminations: BCY 2 - 11,126; KMH - 11,107; La Filipina - 9,851 in group ”A”; Solid Strikers - 9,806; Silverado - 9,653; Davies - 9,608 in group “B”; and Tripple-D - 8,977; RJ Star - 8,958; KMH Jobbie - 8,776; ON-BACIBA - 8,751.

Highest record holders in both divisions include pinning by Ronella Cordero of D'Explorer and Orly Guiljon of Silverado each with 96, single by Sharon Sioson of KMH Jobbie with 148 and Reymond Lopez of La Filipina with 161. The triple was won by Sioson with 363 and Nonoy Hulguin of La Filipina with 390.

Team single was taken by D'Explorer with 351 and BCY 2 with 408, and triple by D'Explorer with 984 & BCY 2 with 1,094.

The consolation and ladder games will start at 6:30 p.m. (HGD)