Wednesday August 22, 2018

Iloilo City braces for ‘Oplan Tag-Ulan’

ILOILO. The Iloilo City Disaster Risk Reduction Management Council's (CDRRMC) Committee on Disaster Preparedness conducted a meeting to establish plans and operations for Oplan Tag-Ulan at Penthouse of City Hall June 13. (Iloilo City Government Facebook account)

TO ESTABLISH plans and operations for Oplan Tag-Ulan, the Iloilo City Disaster Risk Reduction Management Council's (CDRRMC) Committee on Disaster Preparedness conducted a meeting at Penthouse of City Hall June 13.

“We are still expecting 10-13 tropical cyclones which may occur from June to November. This is why our city needs to have emergency preparedness plan. Barangay Disaster Risk Reduction Management Councils (BDRRMC) should closely coordinate with us to plan for preventive actions and to promote readiness in the community,” Mayor Jose Espinosa III said.

Representative from Philippine Atmospheric Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa) discussed weather systems that may affect the country during the period of June to November; monthly rainfall forecast; and normal and actual rainfall recorded (mm) from January to June 12 this year.

CDRRMO head Donna Magno said Early Warning System must be regularly monitored for immediate communication and information dissemination.

“The public must be informed in advance so that they can take action immediately. It’s our responsibility to identify flood prone areas and the nearest evacuation centers available,” Magno added.

Among the initially identified flood-prone barangays are Aguinaldo, Burgos Mabini, Divinagracia, Jereos, Lopez Jaena Norte, Lopez Jaena Sur, Ticud, Banuyao, Sinikway, Don Esteban, Alalasan and Punong for Lapuz and Lapaz districts;

Barangays Oñate De Leon, Navais, Calahunan, Airport, San Rafael, Dungon C, Sta. Rosa, Taft North, Bolilao, Bakhaw, Pali- Benedicto, Guzman, and Tabucan for Mandurriao;

Barangays Calubihan, Desamparados, Dungon A and B, Tabuc Suba, Quintin Salas, Buntatala, Balabago, San Isidro, Tagbac, and Camalig for Jaro;

Barangays Sta. Cruz, Mohon, Sto. Domingo, Yulo Drive, Dulonan, San Jose, Sooc Arevalo for Arevalo; and

Barangays San Juan, Kasing-Kasing, Taal, East Timawa, West Timawa, Katlingban, Compania Central for Molo and Zamora Melliza, Rizal Ibarra, Gen. Hughes, Santo Rosario Duran, and Veterans Village for City Proper.

CDRRMC is set to meet these barangays on June 22. A memorandum will consequently be issued by the Office of the City Mayor directing barangays to prepare their disaster management plan for Oplan Tag-ulan. (PR)