RADIO veteran reporter Delprado "Jun" Villanueva Jr. won the Baguio Correspondents and Broadcasters Club (BCBC) 2010 election with 56 votes.

Villanueva, from Bombo Radyo, was pitted against Philippine Star correspondent Artemio Dumlao.

Click here for stories and updates on the Sinulog 2010 Festival.

It has been five years since the media club had a president from the ranks of the radio broadcast sector. Robert Tabay from DzEQ Radyo ng Bayan took the reins in 2005.

The BCBC, which started in 1958 and composed of Baguio-based journalists and broadcasters, spearheaded institutionalized events like the annual search for the Lucky Summer Visitor and more recently, the Media Awards.

Villanueva was taken in as a field reporter for Bombo Radyo in 1991.

As a reporter, Bombo Jun (as he came to be known) became one of the station's top investigative reporters, blazing the trail for the others in that field to follow. Later, he was promoted to anchorman, handling various news and public affairs programs of the station.

His fearless work as an investigative reporter resulted in various exposes during the early 90s, which earned for him the reputation as a "no nonsense" broadcaster in the locality.

He now hosts "Bombo Reports 1 and 2" aired from 4:45 p.m. to 6 p.m., and 6:30 a.m. to 7 a.m.

Midland Courier's Harley Palangchao and Liza Galao both won as vice presidents for print and secretary, respectively.

DzWT's Joseph Manzano now stands as vice president for radio, while Skycable's Migs Velarde is the vice president for television.

The position for treasurer went to Precy Mangibat, also from Bombo Radyo with Larry Madarang from the Manila Times as auditor.

Members of the board include Daruis Bajo from GMA 7, Doddie Mendillo from ABS-CBN, Alah Sungduan from Mountainview Cable, and Sun.Star Baguio's Roderick Osis. (Maria Elena Catajan)