THE 15th Araw ng Buhangin Inter-School Invitational Basketball Championship gets underway on February 6 at the Buhangin Gym.

A total of six teams are competing in the tournament, with the Ateneo de Davao University (Addu) Blue Knights and University of Mindanao (UM) Wildcats heading the list and installed as the heavy favorites.

Click here for stories and updates on the Sinulog 2010 Festival.

Organizers said other teams seeing action are the Agro Industrial Foundation College of the Philippines (AIFCP) Sailors, Holy Cross of Davao College (HCDC) Crusaders, Jose Maria College (JMC) Kings and DMMA College of Southern Philippines.

The event has a total cash prize of P50,000, with the champion team getting P20,000. Second placer will receive P15,000, third P10,000 and fourth P5,000.

The finals will be played before the Araw ng Buhangin on February 18.

Trophies will also be awarded to the winners of the tournament being organized by Barangay Buhangin under Barangay Chief Jimmy Salvador.

The event is only one of the activities to highlight the Araw ng Buhangin celebration. There will als be a fun run, cheer dance contest, and inter-purok floral float parade and variety show competition. (MLSA)