Monday, May 27, 2019

Santillan tops Sagada Mountain Marathon

BAGUIO. Despite taking up trial running only in 2016, Don Santillan emerges as the top winner in the 42K category of the Sagada Mountain Marathon recently. (Photo from Don Santillan Facebook page)

JUST barely few years after taking up the sport, Don Santillan proves he can be one of the boys after topping the 42-kilometer run of the Sagada Mountain Marathon recently.

Santillan clocked 6:15:55.24 in topping the 42-kilometer race which is part of the Cordillera Series organized by Team Malaya.

“To be honest, hindi ako nakapag train and kung kelan hindi ako naka pag train dun ako nanalo. The week of the race, nag overnight hike kame and pagdating nung race ramdam ko yung maga nung legs ko,” said Santillan.

“Mountain run is difficult than trail run, kasi walang clear na path and non-stop yung akyatan.”

Santillan started running in 2012 and was eventually hooked to the sport and has shifted to trail running in 2016 joining the King of the Mountain Trail Run series Hardcore Hundred Miles where he placed fourth.

“I think nakakabit na yung training ko in advance. So I train regularly sa stairs, core training and gym,” added Santillan.

Placing second is Joseph Gentoleo checking in at 6:23:20.50 while Charlie Guzman salvaged third place with a time of 07:05:19.83.

Cecilia Kiswa topped the female side with a time of 08:13:23.35 while Marcelina Ongan checked in at 08:43:31.45 to finish second while Flora Marie Khensay came in third with a time of 8:47:14.93.

In the 25 kilometer category, Ronel Ventura clocked 3:34:19.01 to nail the top purse as Jephunneh Anegyao (4:04:20.98) and George Gonzales (4:04:39.08) settled for second and third respectively.

Jojie Daga-as checked in at 4:04:38.56 to win in the distaff side as Ligaya Ayan (5:00:05.59) and Nonalyn Garcia (5:14:05.79) completed the top three finishers.

Godfrey Farnican timed 1:23:24.79 to win the 12 kilometer category edging Felix John Gansoen who came in second with a time of 1:39:54.72 as Isaiah Didican completed the top three with a time of 1:40:05.60.

In the distaff side, Sunshine Wanawan was the fastest with a time of 1:53:49.67 while Hazel Pespes completed the course with a time of 2:03:10.28 as Jennifer Paladio was third with a time of 2:14:52.77. (Roderick Osis)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!