SUN.STAR Cebu chief photographer Alex Badayos topped the Festival Queen category of this year’s Sinulog photo contest.

Badayos’ photo of Sinulog Festival Queen third runner-up Rotamae Joy Verano dancing in the rain bested other entries in the category. Badayos was last year’s grand

prize winner.

Click here for stories and updates on the Sinulog 2010 Festival.

Wedding photographer Mikhail Arrogante is this year’s biggest winner. He bested 1,300 other photographers by winning the photo contest’s grand prize.

Apart from the grand prize, Arrogante also won first prize in the contingent category; first, second and sixth in the fluvial/procession category; second in the higante/puppeteer/float category; and fourth and fifth in the sidelights category. Arrogante won a total of P95,000.

Arrogante, a wedding photographer based in Lapu-Lapu City, told Sun.Star Cebu yesterday he won the contest because he learned from the mistakes he made in 11 years of joining the annual competition.

“There is no secret to my success. You really have to learn something every year, looking at what you missed,” said Arrogante.

Arrogante, who started out as an apprentice photographer in his uncle’s studio in Man-daue City, said he started by taking photographs of weddings and pre-nuptial ceremonies.

Arrogante said he plans to spend part of his winnings to organize a thanksgiving with his photographer friends.

Former Sun.Star Cebu photographer and now freelancer Victor Kintanar, meanwhile, won fourth place in the fluvial/procession category.

Other winners in the grand prize category include photojournalist Aldo Nelbert Banaynal (second) of the Freeman and Rolando Pascua (third).

In the contingent category, the winners include Jean Paul Nochefranca (second and 10th), Jacob Maentz (fourth), Francis Dunque (fifth), Edgar Tan (seventh), Japoi Cequina (eighth) and Erwin Lim (ninth).

In the fluvial/ procession category, the winners are Arrogante, Glenn Camay (second), Joseph Carlo Gochangco (third), Kintanar (fourth), Casilda de Larrazabal (fifth), Maxwell John Bongo (sixth), Poh Lim II (eighth), Rolando Pascua (ninth) and Erwin Lim (10th).

In the higante/puppeteers/float category, the winners are Carlito Felicen (first), Arrogante (second), Dexter Bongo (third), Vicente Vosotros (fourth), Erwin Lim (fifth), Ernesto Sudario (sixth), Chilun Leung (seventh), Jowalyn Maris Real (eighth), Lawrence Tan (ninth) and Elizabeth Ybanez (10th).

In the sidelights category, the winners are Lemuel Leogene Reyes (first), Rod Jason Galgo (second), Dexter Maneja (third), Arrogante (fourth and fifth), Christopher Colinares (sixth), Elmer Philip Lim (seventh), Kim Bondoc (eighth), Erwin Lim (ninth) and Dan Douglas Ong (10th).

In the festival queen category, the winners are Badayos (first), Francis Dunque (second), Rene Ybañez (third), Elmer Shane Lagumbay (fourth), Lawrence Tan (fifth and sixth), Chubby Atillo (seventh), Sheena May Bombarda (eighth), Manley Cardinez (ninth) and Anne Flores (10th).

The winners will be awarded on Saturday afternoon in SM Cebu.

The winning photos will be exhibited from Feb. 1 to 10.