SECTIONS
Saturday, September 22, 2018
MANILA

Palace issues list of holidays for 2019

MALACAÑANG has issued Proclamation 555, enumerating the regular holidays and special non-working days for 2019.

The list of regular holidays and special non-working days, which was approved by President Rodrigo Duterte on Wednesday, August 15, are as follows:

* Regular Holidays

January 1 (Tuesday) – New Year’s Day

April 9 (Tuesday) – Araw ng Kagitingan

April 18 – Maundy Thursday

April 19 – Good Friday

May 1 (Wednesday) – Labor Day

June 12 (Wednesday) – Independence Day

August 26 (Monday) – National Heroes Day

November 30 (Saturday) – Bonifacio Day

December 25 (Wednesday) – Christmas Day

December 30 (Monday) – Rizal Day

* Special Non-Working Days

February 5 (Tuesday) – Chinese New Year

February 25 (Monday) – Edsa People Power Revolution Anniversary

April 20 – Black Saturday

August 21 (Wednesday) – Ninoy Aquino Day

November 1 (Friday) – All Saints Day

December 8 (Sunday) – Feast of the Immaculate Concepcion of Mary

December 31 (Tuesday) – Last Day of the Year

* Additional Special Non-Working Days

November 2 (Saturday)

December 24 (Tuesday)

Duterte declared February 5, 2019 as special non-working day because Chinese nationals worldwide celebrate Chinese New Year, which is “one of the most revered and festive events celebrated not only in China but also in the Philippines.”

The President also said that the 33rd anniversary of Edsa People Power Revolution on February 25, 2019 needs to be commemorated because it “restored and ushered political, social and economic reforms in the country.”

He said Black Saturday, which falls on April 20, 2019, has been traditionally declared as special non-working day all throughout the country, in observance of Holy Week that is “one of the most cherished traditions of our predominantly Catholic people.”

The Chief Executive said declaring November 2 and December 24 nationwide “will strengthen the family ties by providing more time for the traditional All Saint’s Day, All Souls’ Day and Christmas Day commemorative activities, and will promote domestic tourism as well.”

The proclamations declaring national holidays for the observance of the Eid’l Fitr and Eid’l Adha will be issued after the approximate dates of the Islamic Holidays have been determined, in the accordance of the Islamic calendar on the lunar calendar. (SunStar Philippines)


VIEW COMMENTS