Tuesday, July 16, 2019

Pichay, Yap named House deputy leaders

THE House of Representatives has elected new deputy leaders and committee chairpersons under the leadership of Speaker Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo.

During the plenary session on Wednesday, August 15, Surigao del Sur Rep. Prospero Pichay Jr. and Bohol Rep. Arthur Yap were named as new deputy leaders of the House.

The two replaced Cebu Rep. Gwendolyn Garcia and Marikina Rep. Miro Quimbo.

Both Garcia and Quimbo did not vote for Arroyo during the election on July 23, shortly after President Rodrigo Duterte's State of the Nation Address.

Garcia was absent while Quimbo abstained from the voting and later claimed the minority leader post.

Garcia was elected as the new House committee on economic affairs chair, replacing Yap, while Quimbo was elected as a member of the House committee on ways and means.

Leyte Rep. Yedda Romualdez was installed as the chairperson of the accounts committee, replacing Batangas Rep. Elenita Ermita Buhain, while Leyte Rep. Vicente Veloso replaced Southern Leyte Rep. Roger Mercado in the committee on constitutional amendments.

Camiguin Rep. Xavier Jesus Romualdo was elected as chairperson of the good government and public accountability committee, replacing Surigao del Sur Rep. Johnny Pimentel.

Justice committee chair and Mindoro Rep. Reynaldo Umali was replaced by Oriental Mindoro Rep. Doy Leachon while Cebu Rep. Rodrigo Abellanosa replaced LPG Marketers Association Rep. Arnel Ty as chairperson of the committee on natural resources.

Cavite Rep. Jennifer Austria-Barzaga was elected as vice chair of the committee on accounts replacing Quezon City Rep. Bolet Banal while North Cotabato Rep. Jose Tejada was elected as vice chair of Committee on Appropriations in place of Oriental Mindoro Rep. Doy Leachon.

Elected as new members of the said committee are Abra Rep. JV Bernos, Mandaluyong City Rep. Alexandria Gonzales and San Jose Del Monte City Rep. Rida Robles.

They replaced Batanes Rep. Dina Abad, Compostela Valley Rep. Ruwel Peter Gonzaga, and Lanao Del Sur Rep. Mauyag Papandayan.

The leadership shake-up came following the election of Arroyo as House Speaker last month.

Earlier, the House of Representatives through an election named Camarines Sur Rep. Rolando Andaya as the majority leader and Quezon Rep. Danilo Suarez as the minority leader of the House of Representatives.

The decision of the chamber to install Suarez is yet to be questioned by the Liberal Party minority bloc led by Quimbo and another minority bloc led by ABS Party-list Rep. Eugene De Vera along with former House Speaker Pantaleon Alvarez and majority leader Rodolfo Fariñas before the Supreme Court. (Keith A. Calayag/SunStar Philippines)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!