MANILA -- Sprinters from Far Eastern University and Ateneo de Manila remained to be the fastest runners in the league after sailing past rivals at the start of 72nd UAAP track and field championships recently at the Rizal Memorial Track and Football Stadium.

Romnick Herida of reigning men’s champion FEU clocked in 10.97 to win the gold beating Carlo Soriano of Ateneo (11.12) and La Salle's Jose Renato Unso (11.14) who settled for the silver and bronze medals, respectively.

Meanwhile, Ateneo's Maita Mendoza earned her second gold by nipping Hanelyn Loquinto of FEU in a close contest. She clocked in 12.44 seconds, just two seconds faster than Loquinto.

Luville Dato-on of University of Santo Tomas took the bronze (12.57). (Virgil Lopez/Sunnex)