Gacad: 65th

Ziggy Zaggy

AND just like that, the 65th annual national mine safety and environment conference is history. Close to 3,000 delegates participated in the annual confab and it was another successful event. Congratulations to the Philippine Mine Safety and Environment Association (PMSEA), the Mines and Geosciences Bureau, the Philippine Society of Mining Engineers (PSEM) and all the participating stakeholders of the Philippine mining industry for a strong show of unity and support for responsible mining operations.

Congratulations to the winners of the prestigious awards and recognition given, most notably the 2018 Presidential Mineral Industry Environmental

Awardees (PMIEA)-Mineral Exploration: Filminera Resources Corporation (Platinum) and Mount Labo Exploration and Development Corporation (Platinum). Mineral Processing: Coral Bay Nickel Corporation (PMIEA); Mindanao Mineral Processing and Refining Corporation (Platinum); Taganito HPAL Nickel Corporation (Platinum); Philippine Gold Processing and Refining Corporation (Platinum). Quarry Operation: Holcim Mining and Development Corporation-Davao (Platinum); LafargeHolcim Aggregates (Platinum); Holcim Resources and Development Corporation (Platinum); Republic Cement and Building Materials Inc.-Batangas (Platinum); Eagle Cement Corporation (Platinum); Holcim Mining and Development Corporation-La Union (Platinum); Northern Cement Corporation (Titanium); Surface Mining: Rio Tuba Nickel Mining Corporation (PMIEA); Agata Mining Ventures Inc. (PMIEA); SR Metals Inc. (PMIEA); Cagdianao Mining Corporation (Platinum); Hinatuan Mining Corporation-Tagana-an (Platinum); Filminera Resources Corporation (Platinum); and Carmen Copper Corporation (Platinum).

The PMIEA recognizes outstanding levels of dedication, initiative and innovation in the pursuit of excellence in environmental management by exploration, mining and other related entities involved in various aspects of mineral utilization. The scope of the environmental management includes, among others, programs/projects being implemented for the environmental protection and enhancement of mining areas, development of the host and neighboring communities, land use improvement, exploration and mining site rehabilitation and final mine decommissioning.

Best Surface Safety Inspector: Bernard O. Balino (Rio Tuba Nickel Mining Corporation); Best Surface Mine Supervisor: Wilque C. Orina (SR Metals, Inc.); Best Surface Miner: Jhon M. Borja (Hinatuan Mining Corporation - Tagana-an).

Best Mining Forest Awardees - Aglubang Mining Corporation (Mineral Exploration); Coral Bay Nickel Corporation (Mineral Processing); LafargeHolcom Aggregates Inc. (No-metallic); FCF Minerals Inc. (Metallic).

Safest Mines Awardees - Philex Mining Corporation (Safest Mineral Exploration - A); Mount Labo Exploration and Development Corporation (Safest Mineral Exploration - B); LafargeHolcim Aggregates, Inc. (Safest Quarry Operation); Rio Tuba Nickel Mining Corporation (Safest Surface Mining Operation); Philippine Mining Services Corporation - Alcoy Plant (Safest Mineral Processing - Crushing Plant); Coral Bay Nickel Corporation (Safest Mineral Processing - Extraction); OceanaGold (Phils.) Inc. (Safest Mineral Processing - Concentrator); Unichamp Mineral Phils. Inc. (Safest Mineral Processing - Calcining Plant); Cagdianao Mining Corporation (Most Improved Safety Performance); Rio Tuba Nickel Mining Corporation (Safest Mining Operation).

Responsible mining is possible! Kudos and may your tribe increase. Mabuhay ang responsableng minero!


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!