Tuesday, June 25, 2019

Senate approves bill renaming Comval to Davao de Oro

(SunStar Davao graphics)

THE Senate passed on Monday, December 10, Senate Bill No. 1746, also known as the Davao de Oro Bill, which renames Compostela Valley to Davao de Oro.

"The change of name is primarily motivated by our desire to be associated with the Davao Region," Governor Jayvee Tyron L. Uy said in a statement Monday.

Uy said Compostela Valley is the only province in Davao Region which has no "Davao" in its name. This has caused confusion as to the location of Compostela Valley.

He said people tend to mistake the province for Cagayan Valley in Luzon or for Compostela town of Cebu.

Uy said that the renaming of the province, there would be an influx of investments.

The bill was authored by Senator Juan Miguel Zubiri and entitled "An Act Renaming the province of Compostela Valley to Davao de Oro Province, Amending for the Purpose Pertinent Sections of Republic Act No. 8470,".

The committee report of the 17th Congress recommended that the Commission on Elections (Comelec) conduct and supervise the plebiscite in compliance with Republic Act No. 7160 (Local Government Code of 1991).


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!