Sunday, May 26, 2019

Kong, Calderon top Alta Vista Fun Golf

YEAR-END WINNERS. The top winners of the Alta Vista Fun Golf Tournament received their prizes from club directors Ramon Sebastian (left) and Vicente Go (right). Eric Kong (second from left) was the overall lowest gross winner while Wilson Calderon scored the lowest net. (Contributed photo)

CLUB champion Eric Kong and Wilson Calderon bagged the top honors in the Alta Vista Fun Golf Tournament played last Dec. 8 and 9 at the AVGCC course in Pardo, Cebu City.

Kong toured the short, but tricky rolling layout with a gross score of even-par 72 to bag the lowest gross honors. He shot two-over-par 37 on the front nine, but recovered on the back with a two-under-par 35.

Calderon, who plays with a handicap of 25, fired 15-over-par 87 strokes for a net 62 that won him the lowest net honors.

Jufil Sato topped class A with a net score of 65 off a gross 73. First runner-up was Blake Go with 67 off a gross 76 edging Roy Damole in the countback. Damole settled for the second runner-up honors with his 67 after edging Joseph Yun in another countback.

Richard Lim lorded it over in class B with a net score of 63 slipping past Francis Granados in the countback. Granados was first runner-up while Edwin Go Lim was second runner-up with a net score of 64.

Manuel Rosales ruled class C with a net score of 64 strokes and Mark Warren Go was first runner-up with 65. Second runner-up was Jershwin Po with 66 after beating Anwar Abarintos in the countback.

Masahisa Kawakami fired seven-over-par 79 to bag the lowest gross honors for the seniors’ division. Lowest net was Ed Eroy with 65 strokes while first runner-up was Serge Gonzalez with 66 and Ramon Sebastian finished as second runner-up with 71 after beating Willy Tupaz in the countback.

Razy Razon ruled the superseniors class (65 years old and above) with a net score of 62 strokes. First runner-up was Rolando Alberto with 66 and Manuel Go was second runner-up with 67 edging Ed Sy in the countback.

Eleven-year-old Grace Pauline Quintanilla topped the ladies division with a net score of 67 while first runner-up was Vina Garcia with 68.

Ben Ngujo ruled the guest division with a net score of 62 strokes. First runner-up was Ronald Alfeche with 63 while second runner-up was Dominic Gotiong with 65 beating Andrew Cañete in the countback.

Joseph Yun won a Skygo motorcycle for scoring an eagle on the par-4 hole No. 14. (PR)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!