Tell it to SunStar: Only two commissioners resigned

THANK you for following the Patria de Cebu issue, which is still unfolding. This is just a quick note to correct the misconception that most members of the heritage commission have resigned.

As of today, Jan. 21, only two members have resigned--Architect Melva Java and myself in letters sent to and received by the Archbishop on Jan. 15 and 16 respectively. (I e-mailed a copy of my letter to your office. Melva’s is posted on Facebook.) We took this step to be free to continue our advocacy to save the Patria administrative building from total demolition.

We both are also appointed trustees of the Archdiocesan Museum of Cebu, a position we continue to serve. There are about a dozen other active members in the commission. We remain good friends and still meet about the Patria issue, but they can speak for themselves since resignation is a personal decision.

The commission’s full name is the Archdiocesan Commission for the Cultural Heritage of the Church (not the Commission for the Cultural Property of the Church). Its chairman is Fr. Brian Brigoli, a faculty member in the San Carlos Seminary College in Mabolo.

For future reference, these are the commission members, all committed advocates of cultural heritage: Louella Alix, Rudy Alix, Carlos Apuhin, Jobers Bersales, Ben Chua, Mary Frances Despi, Architect Omar Maxwell Espina, Teresita Manguerra, Bonifacio Ramo Jr., Audrey Dawn Tomada, Fr. Generoso Rebayla Jr., SVD.--Eileen G. Mangubat


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!