Thursday, August 22, 2019

San Roque hosts GFL Season 2

THE second season of Grassroots Football League (GFL) kicks off Feb. 9 at the San Roque football pitch in Subangdaku, Mandaue City.

A total of 36 teams are competing in four divisions in a seven-a-side league-type tournament that aims to develop the grassroots level.

“Our goal is to give them continuity in playing and give them more matches,” organizer Oliver Colina told SunStar Cebu. “This time, I have opened up to the different clubs not like last year which was solely for developing teams. Now, it’s already open.”

The tournament has four divisions--Under-7, Under-9, Under-11 and Under-13. The Under 13 is a new division.

“We have also invited public and schools’ clubs so that the level of play will improve,” said Colina.

The Under-13 has nine teams--Singapore School Cebu (SSC), Abba’s Orchard, University of San Jose-Recoletos (USJ-R) Balamban FC (BFC), Kamagayan FC, Sacred Heart School-Ateneo de Cebu (SHS-AdC), Paref-Springdale, Giuseppe FC (GFC), Canduman FC and USJ-R.

The U-11 division has the most teams with 11, which are SSC, Abba’s, USJ-R BFC, Kamagayan FC, Canduman FC, Cubacub FC, USJ-R, Samantabhadra, Paref-Springdale, GFC and San Roque FC (SRFC).

The Under-9 division has 10 teams, namely, SSC, Abba’s, USJ-R BFC, Kamagayan FC, Canduman FC, Cubacub FC, USJ-R, Paref-Springdale, GFC and SRFC. The Under-7 has the least participants with seven teams--SSC, Abba’s, USJ-R BFC, USJ-R, Paref-Springdale and GFC. (RSC)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!