SPORTSMAN Antonio L. Aldeguer will grace the Sportswriters Association of Cebu-San Miguel Corp. Sports Awards on March 11 at the Casino Español de Cebu.

Aldeguer, the man behind ALA boxing gym, will be the inspirational speaker of the annual awards which will fete last year’s movers and shakers.

For updates from around the country, follow Sun.Star on Twitter

This is the first time in five years that a Cebu-based personality is the guest of honor in the event. The previous guests of honor were Manny Pacquiao, then Philippine Sports Commission chairman William Ramirez, Dondon Hontiveros and Quinito Henson.

Aldeguer will be joined by his wards, Donnie Nietes, Z Gorres and Milan Melindo. Nietes and Gorres are the major awardees for boxing along with Johnreil Casimero and Rodel Mayol, while Melindo will receive a citation.

The other major awardees are Rubilen Amit (billiards); Edward Hayco (dancesport); Jessica Jawad-Honoridez (table tennis); Lindley Fran Navaja, George Pinanong and Daniel Noval (athletics); Ralph Ian Mendez (badminton); MLKP-Cebu Ninos, Woodrow Enriquez, June Mar Fajardo, Gregory Slaughter, Mark Jayven Tallo, and the University of the Visayas (basketball); Ariel Carumba, Loujei Tipgos, Erika Camille Verano, Apple Saraum (beach volleyball); Jomar Jumapao (bowling); Joseph Sanchez (chess); Team Cebu City, Charlea Lagaras (dancesport); Irina Gabasa (golf); Vicente Fernandez III (judo); Lutche Metante, Noel Espinosa (karatedo); and Juan Antonio Carcel, Jette Calderon (karting).

The rest of the major awardees are Deftac Cebu (mixed-martial arts); Marniel Dimla (pencak silat); Mendel Lopez, Mary Grace delos Santos, Leszl Gitaruelas(running); Metodio Suico, Gene Mark Saavedra, Harrison Castañares (sepak takraw); Loren Dale Echavez, Paula Abigail Vega, Anthony Linn Navarro, Bea Roble (swimming); Teodoro Martus Jr. (scrabble); Richard Gonzales, Dannel Jay Tormis (table tennis); Shaneen Sia (taekwondo); Noy Jopson, Lorhiz Echavez (triathlon); Sally Mae Siso (tennis); Catmon Elementary School girls team and University of Southern Philippines Foundation junior team (volleyball); Kelle Kaye Rojas, Angelica Lado and Reynante Briones (weightlifting).

SAC will also hand out citations to David G. Lim (autocross); Kimberly Lao (bowling); Jesse Bernad (baseball); Johnrey Sasing (volleyball); Glenn Ramos, Christian Noel, Paolo Pascual, Carmelo Genco, Abellana National School, Oliver Colina (football); Sabah Fadai, Renault Lao (MMA); Siegfred Ornopia, Jon-Jon Adlawan (motocross); Cebu Executive Runners Club, Run For Sight Foundation (running); and Cebu Province-Sta. Fe team (sepak takraw).

Others who will receive citations are Larry Antigua, Jacob Lagman, Hannah Espinosa, Sallydine Siso, Bernardine Siso, Adrian Parangan (tennis); Talisay City women’s team, Catmon’s women’s team, Mandaue City men’s team, Liloan men’s team (volleyball); Joselito Padilla, Christopher Bureros (weightlifting); Mary Stephanie Agbay (wushu); Jerome Vendiola (sepak takraw).

Volleyball coach Eugene De La Cerna, who passed away last year, will also receive a posthumous award. (Pooled Report)