AT LEAST 14 NMRAA competitors on the pool have virtually secured a place in the 2010 Palarong Pambansa that the province of Tarlac will be hosting in April.

With five individual golds each, Cagayan de Oro's ladies pair of Gail Maxine Carbajal and Leah Martinez join Palarong Pampook's most bemedalled swimmer Joshua Acain of Misamis Oriental in the big three.

For updates from around the country, follow Sun.Star on Twitter

"Acain's been swimming a lot since the Batang Pinoy days. Last year na niya karon sa secondary level and it's but apt for him to be adjudged as the winningest athlete in NMRAA swim event if we add his medals in medley relay events," explained Sun.Star Cagayan de Oro sports columnist Arlito Rivera who also dabbles as swim trainer.

Next with identical 4-1 gold-silver tally are Jethro Chua, Clarke Anthony Kent Go and Jason Patrick Bondoc--all of Team CDO.

Completing the Palaro swim cast are Cherryline Hortellano and Cherilyn Jurado of Tangub and Patrick Louise Ching of COAA with 3 golds apiece; Christine Joy Pineda with 2 golds and her COAA compatriots Sharise Miaco, Mark Gatinao and Ian Dilao with gold-silver haul.

Just a neophyte in competitive swim tilt, the 12-year-old Go of Abbas School was so elated with his latest feat. Go's first major achievement was when he qualified to the first ever Milo Little Olympics National Finals being held late last year in Cebu City.

"Kay timing sab last year na niya sa elementary and he makes it on time to the Palarong Pambansa," beamed Kent's father Clark Yu Go, newly-minted president of Sun.Star Cagayan de Oro Incorporation.