Sunday, May 26, 2019

Pangan: A much-anticipated village election

At Close Range

IT’S not a national election, not even a local election and yet this village election was much anticipated by residents of Fiesta Communities in Barangqy Tabun, Mabalacat City.

So, finally, the election of a new set of officers for Fiesta Homeowners

Association (HOA) was held last Sunday, February 17, 2019, from 9 a.m.

to 3 p.m.

Previously postponed by the old set of officers, the election, described as peaceful and orderly, came through last Sunday with two factions battling for 13 slots for board of directors: And Bagong HOA and Team

Community in Motion.

The Ang Bagong HOA composed of: Rozel Kay Hernandez, Rodolfo “Rod” Monis, Aidez dela Cruz, Mary Doll “Dolly” Corilla, Angelina “Angie” Isais, Cesar Pangan, Dennis dela Cruz, jenalyn Gulayan, Angelina “Lina” Rodriguez, Jesus “Jess” del Rosario, this writer, Alfredo “Fred” Ramos, Juliet Donato, Jennie “Jen” Rose Dalisay and Ronald Ilustre, anchored its platform on improving the kind of service to residents of Fiesta Communities, such as: erratic garbage collection, proliferation of stray dogs, loud motorcycle mufflers, house break-ins and poor water quality dispensed by the village water supply provider, and other issues.

The campaign period for all candidates was short and swift.

The Ang Bagong HOA has a motorcade Saturday, February 16, and distributed, house-to-house, flyers. The opposing team also had a house-to-house visits. The Ang Bagong HOA members wore red shirts and had balloons set on their vehicles, mostly tricycles.

The Comelec for the HOA election was composed of: JM Mataga, Vilma Macayan, Gabriel Baynado, Rosaly Villanueva, Jovelyn Salazar, Edwin Elias, and Preston Nunag Cayabyab.

After the tabulation of votes, Ang Bagong HOA candidates registered

13-0, a shut-out victory for the new faces, thereby easing out the old

set of directors and officers.

Then ensued an election of officers for a new term: Rozel Kay Hernandez,

President; Rodolfo “Rod” Monies, Vice President, Aidez dela Cruz, Secretary; Mary Doll Corilla, Treasurer and Angelina Isais, Auditor.

The transition from the old officers to the new elected ones follows,

reportedly after sixty days. The newly-elected officers hope that their

predecessors would cooperate in the turnover of assets and responsibilities of the HOA.

* * *

As a recap, the total votes garnered by the candidates for Board of Directors of HOA are as follows: Rozel Kay Hernandez-147; Dennis dela

Cruz-142; Alfredo Ramos-141; Cesar Pangan-121; Aidez dela Cruz-128;

Rodolfo Monis-112; Mary Doll Corilla-100; Benjie Pangan-100; Juliet

Donato-98; Jess del Rosario-95; Angelina Isais-94; Jenny Rose Dalisay-94 and Jenalyn Gulayan-91. Again, it's 13-0 in favor of Ang Bagong HOA.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!