CSF bares first Fernandino eSports Cup winners

PAMPANGA. City of San Fernando Mayor Edwin Santiago and Vice Mayor Jimmy Lazatin flash the Fernandino First sign together with organizers and winners of the 1st Fernandino E-Sports Cup during the awarding ceremonies held Tuesday, February 26, at city hall. (Photo by Chris Navarro)

THE City Government of San Fernando on Tuesday, February 26, bared the first Fernandino eSports cup winners at the city hall atrium.

The first Fernandino eSports Cup was one of the activities of this year’s 18th cityhood charter celebration or Kaganapan, to let Fernandinos understand Mayor Edwin Santiago’s statement that Fernandinos are number one.

The cup was exclusively for Fernandinos who are 18 years old and above.

The tournament, which opened last February 16 at SM City San Fernando Downtown, was divided into two multiplayer online battle arena (MOBA) video games which are Dota 2 and League of Legends.

The competition proper, which had 12 opposing teams for Dota 2 and 16 competing teams for League of Legends, was held last February 16 and 17 at TNC Sindalan.

The winners under the League of Legends category were Carlo Lacsamana, Aldrin Canlas, Carl Sablay, Jonas Basilio, and Mac Canlas of Team Dreamspeed 1 (first place); Jasper Quizon, Mark Sison, Fritz Miranda, Laurence Manansala, and Randle Mabagos of Team Dreamspeed 2 (second place); and Aldrin Calma, Frances Franco, Dave Manalo, Joswyn Sanga, and Kenneth Santos of Team Royal Crown (third place).

Completing the circle of winners for the first Fernandino Esports Cup under the DOTA 2 category were John Mercado, Julius Mercado, Nicko Manalo, Mark Santos, and Remi Liwanag of Team Barracks (first place); Decs Kenshein Gonzales, Kenard Navarro, Charel Evaristo, John Gonzales, and Carl Pagcu Nares of Team Dreamcast (second place); and Jasper Quizon, Mark Sison, Fritz Miranda, Laurence Manansala, and Randle Mabagos of Team Aeriel Mendoza (third place).

It is also in this year's celebration that the first City of San Fernando E-Sports Association was formed under the initiative of its officers President Alberto Otchengco, Jr., Vice President Michael Tungcab, Treasurer Nico Mercado, Auditor Bryan Crisostomo, Secretary Howard Sumagay, and board members Rico Pasion, Clang Sanchez, Emmanuel Talens, Joel Gonzales, Ferdie Dionisio, Raymart Lugtu, and Dennis Wijangco.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!