Saturday, August 17, 2019

Villarin sets record in Awum

EVAMIE Villarin performed more than what was expected from her first ultramarathon after topping the 8th All-Women UltraMarathon (Awum) in a record-breaking fashion at the Terraces, Ayala Center Cebu on Sunday, March 10.

The Dipolog City-native Villarin of Spectrum Runners Club completed the 50-kilometer course in 4 hours, 12 minutes and 27 seconds, shattering the standing record of 4:21:00 set by her teammate Lizanne Abella last year.

Villarin, an Accounting Technology graduate from Saint Vincent College, said winning the Awum, a race staged as part of the Women’s Month celebration, was part of her bucket list.

“I’m happy and proud to win Awum. It’s my first time to join this event and I prepared for this by running long distance mileages for about two to three hours on weekends,” said Villarin.

Villarin, who led from the get-go, said she followed the program given by her coach, Prince Joey Lee, who’s one of the notable long runners in country.

Villarin was not only the fastest female among 334 participants; she was awarded as the sexiest runner as well.

Stephany Marie Jayson crossed the finish line in 4:31:20 for second place and Kay Razel Cundangan finished in 4:50:00 for third place.

Villarin also achieved something for her team as she extended Spectrum Runners Club’s Awum winning streak to five years.

Before Villarin, it was her teammates Sandra Soliano (2015), Preciousa Sanchez (2016) and Abella (2017 and 2018) who ruled the 50K race exclusive for female runners.

Spectrum’s president Dr. Gerry Mayo couldn’t be happier with the accomplishment of his runners. He said the ladies were winning because they’re disciplined in practice and are determined to get better.

“The other members want to follow the footsteps of the successful teammates. That’s why they’re dedicated. Also, we help each other in training and in mental preparation, too,” said Mayo. “This kind of culture that we have empowers our members to achieve more.”

Completing the Top 10 were Soliano (4:50:06), Sanchez (5:04:15), Marivic Mari (5:09:07), Chiqui Limpangog (5:10:31), Elynn Mira (5:13:15), Jessie Ejoc (5:16:02) and Cheryl Raro (5:20:28).

According to the organizers, there were 332 finishers and only two finished beyond the cutoff time. The race started at 10 p.m. on Saturday and ended on Sunday morning. (RSC)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!