Friday, July 19, 2019

2019 Nat’l elims: Ex-UAAP champs emerge winners in chess

DAVAO. Rowelyn Joy Acedo of Davao City poses with her two champion trophies won during the 2019 National Eliminations for SEA Games Mindanao leg held at Gaisano Grand City Gate in Buhangin, Davao City. (Contributed Photo)

FORMER UAAP champions Fide master (FM) Austin Jacob Literatus and Rowelyn Joy Acedo of Davao City emerged double chess champions in the 2019 National Eliminations for SEA Games Mindanao leg held at Gaisano Grand City Gate in Buhangin, Davao City.

Top seeds Literatus and Acedo clinched the rapid and blitz titles of the men's and women's divisions, respectively.

Toril-based Literatus edged fellow six-pointer Aglipay Oberio of Tagum City via superior tiebreaks to rule the seven-round rapid open that had 62 players. The latter placed second while 5.5 scorer Johnnel Balquin of Cagayan de Oro City finished third.

Literatus also topped the blitz open with seven points after eight rounds. Another Toril player John Ray Batucan (6.5) placed second while Jayson Salubre of Panabo City (6.5) finished third.

In the distaff side, Acedo bested fellow six-pointer Mary Joy Tan to annex the rapid open title. Exiquila Apao came third.

Acedo also won the blitz women event after tallying 6.5 points while Blanche Ellyz Bongato (5.5) and Apao (4.5) placed second and third, respectively.

Acedo, a graduate of De La Salle University, said it's been awhile since she competed in a tournament.

"Wala ko mag-expect. Wala nakoy dula-dula. Try-try lang kog dula ug kaya pa ba hahaha nakaluy-an pud (I didn't expect to win. I haven't been playing. I just tried playing and I'm thankful I still made it)," she told SunStar Davao via Facebook.

The standard chess event is still being played as of Monday afternoon..

Acedo said she'll do her best in the last event sanctioned by the National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP) Davao Region and sponsored by the City Government of Davao throug the Sports Development Division of the City Mayor's Office (SDD-CMO). She said, "

Davao City's Ricardo Gian Paolo Labaro, meanwhile, captured the boys 15 crown while Althea Meach Canas pocketed the girls title.

The other champions include Cagayan de Oro City bets Joseph Alexis Dela Rama (boys 13), Ruelle Canino (girls 11) and Zhaoyu Capilitan; Tagum City's Denz Arthur Lumangtad (boys/girls 7) and

Aliyah Rae Lumangtad (girls 13), Bukidnon's Zildjian Ypon (boys nine), and Antony Escalante (boys 11).


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!