MELCHOR Alabaso of Carreon Olympic Gym of Agoo, La Union clinched the title of Mr. Panagbenga 2010 Muscle Showdown recently concluded at the Baguio Convention Center.

Alabaso first topped the light weight division and then he outposed four other champions from four other divisions adding to his previous achievements as “Hari ng Ilocos 2009”, “Mr Binmaley Man of Steel II 2010”, and “Mr Cordillera Muscle Showdown 2010.”

For updates from around the country, follow Sun.Star on Twitter

Mr. Panagbenga was proudly presented by United Body Builders of Northern Luzon and Baguio Flower Festival Inc.

He was grateful after besting 73 other participants. He emphasized self discipline and hard work were essentials to achieve his latest milestone.

“Masaya ako kasi dream ko pang maging champion,” Alabaso added, encouraging other muscle builders to strive harder and continue joining tournament like this.

Meanwhile, Ruel Pajarin of Body Metrix Gym of YMCA Manila claimed the champion in novice division with Paul Sakid of Bryners Gym of Bontoc, Mt. Province placing second, Danilo Javier of Iron Master, Baguio City placed third and Jery Paguio of 9210 Fitness gym, Cabanatuan City placed fourth.

Fifth and sixth placers were Jason Casiwan of Benguet Fitness Center, La Trinidad and San Cortado, Big 3 gym, Candon City.

In the flyweight division, Jerome Miranda of Manila Polo Club, Makati City grabbed the champion belt with Allan Mopera, 9210 Gym of Cabanatuan City placed second and on third is Richard Carolino of Red Nose Fitness center, Cavite.

Robeckson Garcia of Flex Gym, La Trinidad placed fourth while Laurence Pacio of Phoenix Gym, Baguio City and Johnson Cabot, Ultimate Fitness Center Baguio City settled for the fifth and sixth places.

Johnny Tecag of Great Achievers Gym, Baguio City was declared the champion in the bantam weight division with Larry Santos of Fariñas Gym of Bulacan on second place, third placer was Ryan Jay Badilla of Bodi Metrix Gym, Manila. Jurgem Delmas of Olympia Ftness Gym, La Trinidad; Ding Cosain of Bodi Metrix, Manila, and Agusto Dingo, Ultimate Fitness gym, Baguio City on fourth, fifth and sixth, respectively.

Completing the achievers for this competition is the champion of open weight division was Karding Dolosa of Bodi Metrix, with second placer Noah Mendita of Ultimate Fitness Center, Baguio City. Third place went to Zagani Calacsan of Fariñas Gym, fourth was Plaridel Bulacan and Powerbox Gym, Pangasinan.

Albino Ramitares of Fariñas Gym was fifth. (Joel Genove)