Erediano wins gold in nat’l duathlon

HARD WORK PAYS OFF: Moira Frances Erediano credits her month-long training for her latest success. (Contributed foto)

CEBUANA Moira Frances Erediano of Go For Gold PH had a memorable debut in the Tri-Factor Philippines National Duathlon Championship after a gold medal finish in the women’s super sprint race on Sunday, March 31 at the Clark Freeport Zone in Pampanga.

The pride of Lapu-Lapu City clocked 27 minutes and 17 seconds in the race that covered a 2.5-kilometer run 1, a 10K bike and a 2.5K run 2.

Kira Ellis clocked 28:33 for second place, while Raven Valdez finished third in 29:28.

Erediano, a student of Sacred Heart School-Ateneo de Cebu, pulled away from the field in the bike portion after a neck-and-neck battle with Ellis in the first run segment.

Erediano was four seconds behind Ellis in the first run segment but managed to put up a 60-second lead and after clocking 10:34 in the bike leg.

Erediano did not look back and even expanded her lead with a time of 5:34 in the final run segment.

The 14-year-old Erediano considered this race one of her biggest events this season, and winning the title is the prize for the month-long training and hard work.

On the other hand, national team member and Talisay City native Andrew Kim Remolino was his usual force in the men’s junior elite, winning the gold medal in the sprint race.

Remolino clocked a total time of 1:02:03 in the sprint distance race, beating Von Eliz Quintela by 17 seconds for the men’s title. Quirino Miggy settled for third place with a time of 1:03:42 in the 5K run 1, 20K bike and 2.5K run 2 race.

It was a close duel between Remolino and Quintela as the two athletes finished the first run segment with an identical time of 17:32. Remolino completed the bike segment in 34:31, just two seconds ahead of Quintela, setting up a stage for an exciting finish.

Remolino, 18, held his own in the final run with a 9:06 clocking while Quintela finished it in 9:17.

Meanwhile, national team member John Chicano (1:58:24) and Phoebe Kee (2:20:53) were crowned the men’s and women’s champions in the standard race.

Mary Joy Trupa (1:14:24) was the women’s sprint winner, while Matthew Justine Hermosa (25:20) topped the men’s super sprint. (RSC)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!