THE Team Fastball claimed the Cebu Slow Pitch Softball tournament Series Part 2 title after beating the reunited Rebels in the finals at the Fastball Batting Cages in Aboitiz Sports Field in Mandaue City Reclamation Area last Sunday.

It was a total mastery for the Fastball squad over the Rebels who just played together for the first time since 2004 following a 20-6 win in regulation fifth innings in the championship match.

For updates from around the country, follow Sun.Star on Twitter

Most feared

The Rebels are one of the most feared softball/baseball squad in early 2000 when they first pulled a 25-12 win over Team Jokers Arms in the opening match with Sherwin Bentulan and Louie Ramos scoring four runs each to set a winner-versus-winner match against Fastball who found the Bandidos squad a tough customer with a 17-16 win.

Fastball then moved to the finals match after handing Rebels a 30-18 beating in the winners match.

Chino Blanco was three-of-four all via home run, while Paul Unabia and Jesse Bernad made two homers of their four runs, while Avrel Piramide also scored four runs to lead Fastball to the finals.

The Rebels meanwhile had to climb from the loser’s bracket as they played the Jokers Arms once more for the second finals slot.

Jokers Arms showed the Bandidos the exit after a 25-11 beatings in the losers match.


The Jokers Arms was leading 4-1 after the second inning and were protecting a 6-1 lead before the Rebels scored four runs at the bottom of the fifth inning for a 5-6 score.

The Rebels then scored nine runs at the bottom of the sixth inning to lead 14-6 before Andrey Sawchuko hammered a two run RBI homer that took Richard Sharpe and Matt Aspegren for the Jokers Arms final hurrah.

First bat

The Rebels then took the first bat against the well-rested Fastball with Jonathan Burgos and Sofronio Cabansag scoring a run each.

Fastball however came up with five runs courtesy from Unabia, Bernad, Blanco, Steve and Ric Ampiloquio reaching home first.

With the Rebels struggling to keep steam, Fastball added six more runs at the bottom of the second before putting the exclamtion point at the bottom of the fourth with eight runs to win the title.