THIRTEEN barangay chairmen in Baguio City who championed in infrastructure, livelihood, clean and green, and anti-drug campaign projects are the awardees for the Rotary Club of Metro Baguio’s 26th 10 Outstanding Punong barangays and Hall of Fame Awards.

The 2018 OPB awardees who have shown an exemplary performance as grassroots leaders are Magsaysay Private Road Punong Barangay Debbi Banagui, whose accomplishments include livelihood and responsible parenthood programs; South Sanitary Camp Punong Barangay Manfred Bilibli, whose achievements include extending security assistance and curfew for minors; Bakakeng Central Punong Barangay Dan Daniel for implementing infrastructure projects; Brookside Punong Barangay James Doligas, who is known for programs focusing on the protection for children; and Country Club Punong Barangay Gil Lomboy, whose place is known as drug free barangay in the city.

Completing the list of awardees are Cabinet Teachers Camp Punong Barangay Edward Lumasang, who is known for training and involving his constituents on governance; San Antonio Village Punong Barangay Nicanor Nialla, who is lauded for his environmental clean and green program; Trancoville Punong Barangay William Regacho, who is known for advocating the children’s rights; San Luis Village Punong Barangay George Saguid, whose works include several infrastructure projects; and Manuel A. Roxas-Teachers Camp Punong Barangay Elsie Magdalene Tindoc, who is recognized for making her area as one of the cleanest and greenest barangay.

In the awarding ceremony held on April 23, also recognized are Hall of Fame Awardees Atok Trail Punong Barangay Federico Codley, Holy Ghost Proper Punong Barangay Murphy Maspil Sr., and Upper Quirino Magsaysay Punong Barangay Andres Remorque Jr.

RCMB President Elma As-il led the awarding of plaques and cash prize to the 13 awardees who were lauded and commended by Mayor Maurico Domogan, who gave an inspiration message, and Congressman Marquez Go, who served as the guest of honor and speaker.

RCMB past president and 2018 OPB Awards overall chair Feliza Ronquillo in her welcome remarks enjoined all the awardees to continue to be an ethical leaders and inspiration to the city.

RCMB director Amando Mayo, who served as chairperson of the Evaluation and Selection Committee, said the awardees were chosen based on criteria, which include the advocacy on tourism promotion, programs against graft and corruption, drug prevention, anti-squatting, and enforcement of laws and protection of the environment like clean and green program which include solid waste segregation and tree planting, infrastructure projects, and others.

Throughout the years RCMB and its OPB awards has been inspiring the Barangay leaders to be a model and inspiration to everyone.

Congratulations to the 2018 OPB awardees!

For comments and suggestions, email