Famas 2019: Cebuano-directed film ‘A Short History of a Few Bad Things’ wins Best Actor; Anne Curtis first female recipient of FPJ Memorial Award

THE country’s top filmmakers and artists celebrated another year of cinema excellence during the 67th Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Science (Famas) Awards last Sunday, April 28.

The Cebuano-directed film “A Short History of a Few Bad Things” (Keith Deligero) was nominated for five awards: Best Picture, Best Editing (Deligero, Marie Estela Pais), Best Actor (Victor Neri), Best Supporting Actor (SunStar Cebu editor Publio J. Briones) and Best Original Screenplay (Paul Grant). Neri scored for the team, winning “Best Actor,” alongside veteran artist Eddie Garcia (“ML”).

The night belonged to “Gusto Kita With All My Hypothalamus” which took home three major awards: Best Picture, Best Screenplay and Best Director (Dwein Baltazar).

Nadine Lustre won Best Actress (“Never Not Love You”), Best Supporting Actress went to Adrienne Vergara (“Dog Days”) and Joem Bascon won Best Supporting Actor (“Double Twisting Double Back”).

In a surprise move, Anne Curtis was given the FPJ Memorial Award. She is the first female actress bestowed with the honor. FPJ are the initials of the late Fernando Poe Jr., one of the country’s most esteemed actors.

Complete list of Famas 2019 winners:

Best Picture: “Gusto Kita With All My Hypothalamus”

Grand Jury Prize for Film: “Ang Panahon ng Halimaw” and “Never Tear Us Apart a.k.a. Fisting”

Best Director: Dwein Baltazar (“Gusto Kita With All My Hypothalamus”)

Best Actress: Nadine Lustre (“Never Not Love You”)

Best Actor: Eddie Garcia (“ML”), Victor Neri (“A Short History of A Few Bad Things”)

Best Supporting Actress: Adrienne Vergara (“Dog Days”)

Best Supporting Actor: Joem Bascon (“Double Twisting Double Back”)

Best Original Song: “Buhay Teatro” for “Paglisan” (Music by Teresa Barrozo, Lyrics by Christela Marquez, Aica Ganhinhin, Carl Papa and Erika Estacio)

Best Musical Score: Erwin Romullo, Malek Lopez and Juan Miguel Sobrepeña (“Never Tear Us Apart a.k.a. Fisting”)

Best Adapted Screenplay: Charlson Ong, Choy Pangilinan, Mao Portus, Juan Carlos Tarobal for “Tanabata’s Wife” (based on the short story of the same title by Sinai Hamada)

Best Cinematography: Neil Daza (“Oda sa Wala”)

Best Editing: Lawrence Ang (“Paano Siya Nawala”), Hiyas Baldemor Bagabaldo (“Pag-ukit sa Paniniwala”)

Best Production Design: Maolen Fadul (“Oda Sa Wala”)

Best Short Film: “Siyudad sa Bulawan (City of Gold),” Jarell Serencio

Best Documentary: “All Grown Up” (Wen Sanchez)

Grand Jury Prize for a Short Film: “Balai (Home),” Klarisse Purugganan

Famas Lifetime Achievement Awardees: Marilou Diaz-Abaya, Laurice Guillen

German Moreno Youth Achievement Awardees: Bianca Umali, Maymay Entrata

Jose R. Perez Memorial Award: Ally Sotto

FPJ Memorial Award: Anne Curtis (LQ3)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!