MANILA -- More Cabinet officials have submitted their resignation to President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo in compliance with the High Court ruling that deemed appointive officials running for public office resigned.

Executive Secretary Eduardo Ermita, in a chance interview during the 24th Edsa anniversary commemoration on Thursday, said he already submitted his courtesy resignation to the President last Tuesday but he is still waiting for her decision.

Ermita said Budget Secretary Rolando Andaya Jr., Justice Secretary Agnes Devanadera, and Agriculture Secretary Arthur Yap have already rendered their resignation Wednesday.

He added that Presidential Management Chief of Staff Hermogenes Esperon Jr. is expected to submit his resignation today (Thursday).

Presidential Legal Counsel Raul Gonzales and Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (Tesda) Director General Buboy Syjuco are expected to follow their co-Cabinet members.

Ermita said they have to wait for the action of the President since the Supreme Court decision is not yet final and executor. (Jill Beltran/Sunnex)