Monday, August 19, 2019

Go-Magalong-Olowan wins

BAGUIO. Incumbent Representative Mark Go gets another fresh three-term, while retired Police General Benjamin Magalong and Councilor Faustino Olowan were elected as mayor and vice mayor, respectively, for Baguio City. (JJ Landingin)

BAGUIO'S congressional race was won by incumbent Mark Go, as he toppled incumbent Mayor Mauricio Domogan, ending over three decades of public service.

For the mayoralty race, retired General Benjamin Magalong won the seat

by landslide, defeating seasoned politicians in a surprise victory, which proved newbies have a spot in city hall.

Partial unofficial results covering 93.5 percent votes cast in Baguio City show Go won with 54,854 votes over Domogan's 28,292, while Magalong garnered 37,648 votes. Nearest opponent, incumbent Vice Mayor Edison Bilog, had only 21,105.

"I never expected this margin will be this significant... mataas ang expectation sa akin kasi we have a lot of problems to face. Malaki problema natin sa basura, sa traffic at the tubig... malaking challenge ito," said Magalong.

Magalong ended a career from the Philippine National Police (PNP) after 38 years and is best known for his PNP chairmanship that investigated, crafted and published a full, fair, and just report on the Mamasapano incident despite knowing he will lose a promotion.

Magalong's core values for better governance stands on a platform of transparency, accountability, ethics and integrity with a performance-based governance system to established.

Incumbent Councilor Faustino Olowan won the vice mayoralty race with 37,873 votes, while Association of Barangay Council president and Councilor Michel Lawana trailed behind with 22,340 votes.

Domogan, in a statement, thanked his supporter and congratulated all the winning candidates, as he led the flag raising ceremonies at city hall Tuesday morning, May 14.

"Thank you very much for your support, and congratulations to all the winners. The fight is over, and in defeat, there is a lesson. Rest assured, I will continue to serve our beloved city in my capacity as a private citizen. My utmost gratitude again to all. Agyamanak apo. Dios ti agngina," said Domogan.

As of noon Tuesday, May 14, with one clustered precinct remaining with 669 registered voters and no longer affecting the votes of the top 12 winning councilors, the Board of Canvassers affirmed the proclamation of the newly elected members of the Baguio City Council.

Winners include incumbent Councilors Joel Alangsab, Benny Bomogao, Elaine Sembrano, Mylen Yaranon, Pacoy Ortega, Art Allad-iw and Lilia Farinas.

Others who made it to the City Council are Betty Lourdes Tabanda, Isabelo Poppo Cosalan, Fred Bagbagen and Phillian Weygan. Newcomer Vladimir Cayabas also made it to the circle of winners.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!